We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderfull location, right next to the beach you just need to cross a little road and you are feeling the sand and small the sea.
Very good breakfast lots of variety. Different breads , home made cakes, fresh fruit.
We had dinner at the restaurant. Ot was buffet style. Very good. Salads , hot dishes and deserts, absolutely fab.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CANDYROSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    225
    125
    36
    10
See reviews for
154
195
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Axis Vermar on the second week of October. We are regulars at this hotel and keep coming back for the last 15 years either May or October. We love Portugal and Povoa de Varzim. The hotel is better than ever. The refurbished rooms are just amazing, we stayed at room 1004. We were told that 3 floors are already done and they expect to do the rest, including public areas this winter. The staff is brilliant; the food delicious and varied and will appeal to all sort of tastes. The swimming-pool is outstanding and we love to hear the musician in the bar at the evenings
A minor thing, not hotel's fault: during our stay there was a group staying (Newmarket label on the tables) that had no idea of how to be in a hotel. Those people rushed to the buffet like there was no tomorrow… filling and re-filling dishes, eating cakes and puddings before main course, salty sauces mixed with sweets, with no respect for the other guests. More disturbing was to see some people taking goods from buffet breakfast and store it in there purses and pockets (yogurts, sandwiches) I assume to skip lunch. We advised the head-waiter but there was little he could do. The food was good but it seems that there holiday was all about eating.
Next year we will come in March or April and avoid the low-budget costumers.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and sea-view. It costs more but it pays off
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

excellent hotel!
Since the location (with superb views to the sea) to the staff, food, etc. ..
The food is delicious, traditional, perfect for those who enjoy a good meal. The staff from the reception, restaurant and floors is wonderful.
The views from the rooms are spectacular ... over the Atlantic Ocean!
I was amazed and I'll come back for sure!!

I recommend!! 5 STARS

Room Tip: sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week with Newmarket holidays booked in October. The hotel is well located, with views from the sea and beach. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean, with space, with amenities, mini-bar, air-conditioning and free internet. The hotel staff are very professional, friendly, dedicated. The breakfast is very varied, with a very good level of presentation. The restaurant service, to dinners in buffet service is fantastic. The buffet consists of cold buffet, various salads, small fries, sauces, soup, fish, two varieties of meat, pasta, pasta sauces, vegetables, potatoes, rice, fries, choice of bread, butter, dessert buffet, fruit, cheese.

During a week's stay, the buffet was always different and varied.

Thanks to all employees of the hotel for the excellent Axis Vermar holiday and recommend the hotel and hope to return next year.

*I suggest that some people might think a bit before making serious find fault about the hotel, such as food poisoning. Speaking without thinking and knowing, may harm any image of a hotel or company

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 with my husband and mum and dad. From day 1 the food at mealtimes was always lukewarm and this gave me serious concerns, especially when the trays coming from the kitchen were not warm either. For health reasons we tended to stay away from the 'hot' buffet. It was so disappointing and certainly nowhere near a 4 star rating. Newmarket management need to review this Hotel as it was a bit tired but if action is not taken to rectify the temperate of the food, I believe there could be a serious outbreak of food poisoning. It was a great location.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelioFernandes, Gerente at Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest
Thanks for your comments always appreciate if made in a positive way. We would like to assure you that as dedicated professionals and as a responsible company, in hotel business for over 30 years, we fulfill all obligations regarding HACCP and food safety regulated by Portuguese and EU authorities. Email us and we will be happy to send you all relevant documents that will prove with no doubt that food issues are just not possible in our hotel. We realize that British guests tend to appreciate the food extremely hot opposite to other guests from southern Europe. We will improve our system to satisfy all our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This holiday was one of the worst hoildays we have had for a long long long time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The room stunk. The view from the room was over the air conditioning and we thought we had booked a balcony room. No safe in room. No tea and coffee faciitites. Entertainment was rubbish on the two nights there was any. Food was the same every night except for the luke warm meat dishes. Town was not 5 minutes away as per brochure.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 849hade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week booked via newmarket holidays called hidden Portugal. The room was clean but had a view over the air conditioning units on a flat roof. To upgrade was a further 50 euros! The food in this hotel was probably the worst I have experienced in my 30 years of travelling...it was luke warm and dire to say the least. I am not fussy with my food and will try anything but I never found any dishes that were of a reasonable temperature. On day 4 my sister was terribly sick for 7 hours and I soon became ill the following day with stomack upset and sickness for 48 hours. A common theme soon appeared with the majority of our group having experienced sickness at he very least. The hotel and Newmarket rep did not give any clear indication as to why holiday makers were so ill and apparently there were food samples being sent off for investigation. A doctor was called to give advice albeit a bit late for most people. I would not visit this hotel if I was given a free holiday and I hope that newmarket holidays will investigate the complaints that they have received.

Room Tip: Do not bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hudson-Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelioFernandes, Gerente at Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest
From your message we must assume that you were one of the five guests that felt sick on the 5th October and were seen by the doctor. 5 cases in 450 guests is not a majority, don´t you agree? Please be informed that our company fulfills all requirements regarding HACCP and food safety as we are obliged to by law and EC regulations. Our property is regularly inspected by the authorities and audited by highly recognized specialists. However because our professional reputation and integrity were questioned we decide to promote a meticulous investigation. The results, as expected by us, prove with no doubt that whatever occurred to you as nothing to do with our hotel. We sent all relevant information to your tour-operator but will be glad to share it with you to. Just email us your request.
Furthermore AxisVermar, in business since 1974 is part of Axis Hoteis group, with over 2 500 hotel beds, 600 employees, is now the 5ª biggest hotel chain in Portugal. In 2012 we served more than 100 000 guests from all over the world. Unfortunately we can´t please all our guests but feel encouraged to continue our mission: to deliver the best value possible for the money paid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Povoa de Varzim
4.3 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varzinn Hotel
Varzinn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#4 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Andre
Hotel Santo Andre
#9 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
138 reviews
8.7 mi away
Axis Ofir Beach Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grande Hotel de Povoa
Grande Hotel de Povoa
#6 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel

Property: Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Address: Rua da Imprensa Regional, Povoa de Varzim 4490-518, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Povoa de Varzim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Povoa de Varzim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Porto Vermar is a 4 star hotel on the beach in Povoa de Varzim, only 20 km from the international airport and 35 km from the centre of Porto. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 208 airconditioned rooms, including 125 non smoking rooms and 12 suites, eight meeting rooms with natural light for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool, tennis court and a terrace area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axis Vermar Conference And Beach Hotel
Novotel póvoa De Varzim
Novotel Povoa De Varzim
Novotel Hotel Porto Vermar
póvoa De Varzim Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing