We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good location”

Cervejaria PortoBeer
Reserve with
Cervejaria PortoBeer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #648 of 1,786 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Close to the Sheraton hotel where we stayed. Food is simple but nice and prices are decent. Staff are friendly and the restaurant is quiet. Ate here twice and enjoyed the food each time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Gerente, Gerente at Cervejaria PortoBeer, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our Restaurant PortoBeer.
We were very pleased that you visited our Restaurant twice and that our service and the quality of the meals delivered, were to meet your highest expectations.
We hope to always continue to merit their preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 228 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place is by far the worst I've been to in Porto... yet the place is quite fancy and located in the busiest avenue in the city, next to the biggest hotels and shopping areas... but the fact that they call themselves "cervejaria" is simply a joke. Don't expect any fancy, as they will only propose the basic choice of local and international beers, no more... so why call themselves "cervejaria"?? Then they claim to have an excellent choice of francesinhas... that's the second joke as the francesinha I ate there is by far the worst I've had in Porto so far... and I've tried a few.

So basically they propose a lame choice of beers, terrible francesinhas... and on top of that the place is relatively expensive for what they propose and as compared to other places in Porto. Oh, and the service is far from being nice, don't expect getting a nice welcoming or a nice smile from the staff... people working there are as tasteless as their francesinhas!

My advice: avoid that awful place by any means if you can!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank agg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Gerente, Gerente at Cervejaria PortoBeer, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Costumer,

After receiving your review on Tripadvisor about the visit to our Restaurant Portobeer during the current month, we have taken notice of your disappointment regarding the service and meal presented.

We would like to apologize for the discomfort this situation caused you during your visit and are really sorry that this experience did not meet your expectations.

For this, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we already took the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We also take this opportunity to invite you to have a new meal with us, so that you can have a different experience of our service. Please contact us through Tripadvisor to make the reservation and we will be honored to have you again with us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Caveat - for Portugal, the beer list is outrageously good. For anywhere with a long brewing tradition or modern craft beer enthusiasts, expect disappointment! There seem to be only two Portuguese brewers, Superbock and Sagres. Both produce a mainstream Pilsner-type lager product - this bar was one of the few we found that also stocked the Stout, as well as a 'green' (with added lime) and low-cal options. There were several imported beers but almost all were also in the lager genre.

Service was good though, and the food was from a fairly wide menu of local dishes and generic pub food (burgers, hot dogs, fries). We enjoyed what we ate.

Thank martincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portobeer, Gerente at Cervejaria PortoBeer, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greet you for the review on Tripadvisor regarding your experience at our Portobeer Restaurant.

It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed our service and quality of the food presented.

We also take this opportunity to inform that we took notice of your comments and suggestions regarding our beer menu.

Hoping to welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very well cooked interesting food,definitely five star,very low key,friendly staff, We felt special.

Thank Marilyn706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portobeer, Gerente at Cervejaria PortoBeer, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your review on Tripadvisor regarding the experience you had at Portobeer, the beer house of the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

Our goal is to make sure that all guests feel as they belong during their time with us and that each visit is a special one, so we are very glad to know we have achieved this with you.

Your valuable comments only assist us in ensuring that others too, can continue to benefit from our high quality service and friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Best Regards,

Miguel Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had the typical "Francesinha" sandwich and a couple of local beers. The food was good, but the service is quite slow and lacks some personal touch.
It seems like they are understaffed and the waiters get very tired.
Kind of expensive for what it is, but I guess a good option if you're in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portobeer, Gerente at Cervejaria PortoBeer, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from sunny Porto!

Thank you for having taken the time to put a review on Tripadvisor regarding your experience at Portobeer, the beer house of the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your meal with us and that the food had the desired quality and presentation.

We would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have taken notice of your comments regarding the staff service.

Hoping that it will not take long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again and remain at your entire disposal.

Yours Sincerely,

Miguel Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria PortoBeer also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Cervejaria PortoBeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing