We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, lovely staff, just don't expect too much.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Oceano Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Oceano Guest House
Ranked #38 of 148 Porto B&B and Inns
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
369 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely staff, just don't expect too much.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My partner and me stayed here for 2 weeks in May/June. We just wanted a clean place, not expensive, on a good location where we could shut our eyes and get a decent night of sleep after sightseeing all day. And that is what we got.

The owners are really lovely and helpful, we didn't have any language trouble (just put some effort in trying to speak Portuguese, which is appreciated, even if it is as poorly as my attempts...)

It really is a budget hotel, so don't expect too much. The room we stayed in was a bit small (no problem) and so was the bathroom (a bit more of a problem). The shower was tiny and there was not really a place to put our shampoo and shower gel. No worries: we just went to the nearby Chinese store and bought a 'sticky board' which we sticked to the wall, in the corner of the shower, problem solved. We also bought some sticky hooks for our washcloths etc., as we found the space to hang stuff was a bit meager.

So, room and bathroom was easy to get used to or to adjust, but the bed... the mattress was okay, the height as well, but again, it was really small and my Partner kept struggling with staying in the bed and not rolling out...
Another thing that really wouldn't be a problem if we just stayed here for a couple of days, but what was a bit inconvenient when staying 2 weeks: there were no bed lights. And of course there were days where my partner was wiped out and wanted to go to sleep, while I wanted to read up on whatever we wanted to visit the next day. Again: the Chinese store brought the solution, we bought a small lamp. ( we also bought to glasses to have a nice little Porto-wine in the evening, I hope they left them in the room for the next visitors).

The free Wi-Fi was really welcome! We made good use of it. Also, the air-conditioning was very welcome, once we finally figured out that and how it worked...(our bad!) We could just close the window (brilliant isolation, all the street-noises were kept out ) and we could still 'be cool'.

Breakfast is really no problem at all, just go down the street and have your pick of places where the serve a decent and cheap cup of coffee with a nice piece of pastry.
Location is great, near the trainstation, metro and lots of busses.

For us the stairs really weren't a problem, but I can imagine if you are a bit older or lack a bit of mobility, the stairs can be a bit too much.

Room Tip: When older or lacking mobility, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. You really describe our main features!
We appreciate the recommendation about the lack of a place to put the shampoo and shower gel. We will try to fix that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    99
    45
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
102
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked it based on good reviews and because it seemed reasonably priced - 30 Euro for single, no breakfast. I guess it would be totally ok if my first night in Porto I did not stay at another place for 22 Euro which was much nicer. The positives: Grand Oceano is well located, the people seem friendly.
On the negative: the room was very small, oldish, you have to ring the door bell when you return and since I came back at 4 a.m. I felt uncomfortable waking up the reception and it also took some time. However, for one night (actually few hours) of sleep it was ok. But the "excellent" reviews seem to be over the top.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment.
In fact some rooms are a bit small, but as the building is small, we can not change the situation.
On the issue of time of entry, we dont have employees because it is a family business, but can enter the time you want without any problem (during the night just ring the bell and wait a bit).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Both in booking.com and here, the rating for this hotel is quite good and that is why I booked from this hotel. I can't understand this. OK this is a budget hotel and the expectations should be limited and mine were limited already. I stayed in lots of budget hotels and this was the most rubbish one. Smells humid everywhere from lobby to the rooms, was not clean, toilet pipes broken washing out toilet, staff doesn't know English, no lift!...It was a really poor hotel. I wouldn't recommend this at all. Positive sides: location, free and working wireless, cheap

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ongun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks for the comment you sent. We appreciate the fact that that you consider that Pensão Grande Oceano is a good value accommodation, well located and with free wireless internet with proper functioning. As you mentioned some negative aspects we can state the following:

- "no lift": In fact we are located in a building of 3 floors without elevator. We would like to install one, but as we are in a historic building with little space is impossible to put a lift, as indeed happens in most guest houses from the city center of Porto.

- "staff doesn't know English": Pensão Grande Oceano is a small family run business. Even without speaking the language of some of our customers we seek to compensate with sympathy and concern about guests.

- "smells humid everywhere from lobby to the rooms": It is important to specify exactly which area you consider that was not clean because we are not aware of it. Moreover, 75% of the comments we have received on TripAdvisor indicate a score of 4 or 5 points in "cleaning". Therefore, if you remember some specific situation, please report to us so that we can recognize and resolve.

- "toilet pipes broken": Regularly we check the condition of the building and did not reach us any claim on this subject in the room where you were installed. However, we inspected in more detail the room where you were installed to detect any abnormality and found nothing. Obviously, if there were any problems with pipes, it would be in our best interest to urgent repair that.

Our thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberieu-en-Bugey, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

A very clean hotel near to the center. Attractive price.The staff was correct.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks for highlighting our cleaning and good price. In fact they are attributes with which we have great concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the play to stay if you want a clean room for a great price in the city center (200 meters from the railway station and 500 meters from the bus station). You don't have breakfast but for the price is more than acceptable, but you can find many bakeries and pastries nearby! I've stayed there several times and also recommended my parents to stay there when they visited Porto!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro_Morais76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your generous consideration. It is true that a service breakfast is not necessary because there are plenty of cafes and bakeries along the Pensão Grande Oceano and with very affordable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great place to stay when visiting this nice and friendly city. I've been recomending it for some friends when coming to Porto and they all considerer a little gem - It's quite cheap, very cozy (a kind of small hostel), very typical, excelent location (right in city centre, 3 min from Aliados metro stop, 2 min from S.Bento train station, short walking distance to Ribeira, Douro river, Clerigos tower...), the owners are very friendly, the rooms are clean, with air conditioned and bathroom, lcd tv, nice soundproof (besides being in a lively street the windows have great isolation). There's no breakfast service but there's lot of cafes and bakeries nearby, not to speak of the great Porto's gastronomy. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Manager at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Summarized in a very correct and complete way our attributes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Quiet (at least on our room side), clean and comfortable. Great location: in the city center, near Sao Bento train station and many restaurants. The staff doesn't speak english but it's really friendly and helpful. Just one remark: the bathrooms are not well isolated so the quietness of your stay depends on your neighbours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarabeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We appreciate all the positive aspects enhanced.
The isolation of the bathrooms, in fact, technically it is impossible to totally isolate the sound that goes from one bathroom to another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vivacity Porto
Vivacity Porto
#25 of 148 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oporto House
Oporto House
#29 of 148 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alvares Cabral Guest House
0.2 mi away
Almada Guesthouse
Almada Guesthouse
#34 of 148 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#6 of 148 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Oceano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Oceano Guest House

Property: Grande Oceano Guest House
Address: Rua Fabrica 45, Porto 4050-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Oceano Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get to know Porto city and relax in the familiar environment of a touristic accommodation located right in the centre of the city. It offers new, modern and comfortable accommodations but also a familiar, cosy and a “home” feeling. Of all of these renovations we must highlight the complete change of all the accommodations in 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Grande Oceano Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing