We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Oceano Guest House
Ranked #40 of 151 Porto B&B and Inns
Amberieu-en-Bugey, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A very clean hotel near to the center. Attractive price.The staff was correct.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks for highlighting our cleaning and good price. In fact they are attributes with which we have great concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    101
    45
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
104
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the play to stay if you want a clean room for a great price in the city center (200 meters from the railway station and 500 meters from the bus station). You don't have breakfast but for the price is more than acceptable, but you can find many bakeries and pastries nearby! I've stayed there several times and also recommended my parents to stay there when they visited Porto!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro_Morais76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your generous consideration. It is true that a service breakfast is not necessary because there are plenty of cafes and bakeries along the Pensão Grande Oceano and with very affordable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great place to stay when visiting this nice and friendly city. I've been recomending it for some friends when coming to Porto and they all considerer a little gem - It's quite cheap, very cozy (a kind of small hostel), very typical, excelent location (right in city centre, 3 min from Aliados metro stop, 2 min from S.Bento train station, short walking distance to Ribeira, Douro river, Clerigos tower...), the owners are very friendly, the rooms are clean, with air conditioned and bathroom, lcd tv, nice soundproof (besides being in a lively street the windows have great isolation). There's no breakfast service but there's lot of cafes and bakeries nearby, not to speak of the great Porto's gastronomy. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Manager at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Summarized in a very correct and complete way our attributes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Quiet (at least on our room side), clean and comfortable. Great location: in the city center, near Sao Bento train station and many restaurants. The staff doesn't speak english but it's really friendly and helpful. Just one remark: the bathrooms are not well isolated so the quietness of your stay depends on your neighbours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarabeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We appreciate all the positive aspects enhanced.
The isolation of the bathrooms, in fact, technically it is impossible to totally isolate the sound that goes from one bathroom to another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

At €35 per night, nobody is complaining. Very well located, correct room with bathroom that functioned and was clean. A bit noisy due to shared bathroom next door. Nice view over the rooftops, TV in Portuguese only, very helpful staff at the desk, with very little English, some French and Spanish.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rollingstoneSydParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensao_grandeoceano, Owner at Grande Oceano Guest House, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your sincere comment.
In fact, next to your room there is the only one shared bathroom of the Pensão Grande Oceano (which serves two bedrooms, because every other bedrooms have a private bathroom), so it is an area with a little more movement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgosesia, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Good place and very good people. Near centre of city, no expensive, clean and quiet. I stayed there in August 2010 whit my friends and I returned in October 2010 with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina8177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed twice and very welcome when I cam back,
great place left some of mu gear there for a week or so
too happy to help, I will be back

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Vivacity Porto
Vivacity Porto
#24 of 151 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oporto House
Oporto House
#30 of 151 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alvares Cabral Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pedra Iberica
Pedra Iberica
#36 of 151 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#5 of 151 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 221 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Oceano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Oceano Guest House

Property: Grande Oceano Guest House
Address: Rua Fabrica 45, Porto 4050-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Oceano Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get to know Porto city and relax in the familiar environment of a touristic accommodation located right in the centre of the city. It offers new, modern and comfortable accommodations but also a familiar, cosy and a “home” feeling. Of all of these renovations we must highlight the complete change of all the accommodations in 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grande Oceano Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing