We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Rio Douro
from $17.40
More Info
from $114.50
More Info
from $104.10
More Info
from $98.30
More Info
Reviews (6,522)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveler rating
1,042
452
90
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,042
452
90
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river cruise beautiful river both sides bridges tour day cruise spanish border breakfast and lunch train trip port wine wine country port houses wine tasting cable car visiting porto boat vineyards douro
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a car so it was a no brainer that we would do some research and take a day to drive the Rio Douro. It was a fabulous trip. It took some time to get to the scenic river section but once there we had great views for several miles. If you go the entire distance of the suggested route it will take a good 6-8 hours round trip. This was one of the highlights of our 3 week trip of Spain and Portugal and is highly recommended.

Thank wwjd1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Douro river is so amazing to see, not only in Oporto but through all its extension! I've travelled along the river on a boat, by car, by train, by motorcycle and it is an amazing experience in every option! Along the river, there are incredible landscapes with the vineyards that are so incredible to watch - there are several options to go on a boat, it really worths it.
In the Oporto metropolitan area, it is also amazing to see the city from the river perspective, and, of course, to contemplate the river from the city - personally, the "Ribeira" zone, near D. Luis bridge, and the "Foz" zone, at the end of the river, are the best places to contemplate the river beauty.

Thank Francisco-XD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So much to see around here; just watching the (tourist) boats go by is lovely all by itself. Can be crowded.

Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took train from Porto sau Bento to Régua, cruised back to Porto on perfect weather day(4 hours cruise included lunch on comfortable boat w wine). Not a lot of descriptive info but countryside planted terraced hills amazing and beautiful. Two locks were navigated. Fun time.

1  Thank Kitt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would recommend a bicycle trip along the Douro. It is absolutely flat driving over a car free traject towards the sea.

Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Rio Douro is a beautiful river, and there are many different ways to experience it. One can drive a car along it, or take one of the many different river cruises. There are many different tour organizations offering river cruises, but an overview of the different options from Porto include (1) a week long trip down the river; (2) a one day cruise to a town downriver (Regua), where you then take a train back to Porto that evening; (3) a one day cruise to a winery (which is beyond Regua) and take a bus back that evening; and (4) a couple hour cruise that shows you the various bridges near Porto.-- you leave and return to Porto on the same boat.

I took the one-day cruise to the winery. The scenery was beautiful, and moving through the locks on the river was an interesting experience. Breakfast and lunch was included on the cruise I took, and this turned out to be quite fun as we met other people at the "group" tables. It was also quite tasty. The boat included both tourists who were taking the longer, winery tour and the shorter cruise to Regua. The difference between the shorter cruise and the longer one that included a winnery tour was (1) you get more of the wonderful scenery of the vinyards by going longer; and (2) you get to expeience moving through a third lock. However, the winery visit is really rushed (we spent only about 20 minutes there); so there isn't much of a "winery tour." So if your main goal is to visit a winery, this approach probably isn't for you. But if you just want to enjoy wonderful scenery, it's a good option.

2  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Rio Douro is an important river in the Iberian Peninsula and we had the privilege to get a boat and sail in it. It was wonderful.

Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with work, it was lovely to look around and nice to learn a bit of history about the place!

Thank CatsTtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took a day trip up the river , going out from Porto on train, returning on a river cruise ship. We sailed through the two big locks in two of the dams across the river. We also walked along the river in Porto going out towards the Atlantic. There is a whole variety of choices of ways to see the Douro

1  Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Rio Douro is the main reason that Porto became the second biggest city in Portugal. It was a safe harbour for many ships and today is a popular river cruise destination. The river flows swiftly and is used to transport goods to market.

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews