We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Douro

Rio Douro
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.88*
and up
Douro Valley and Wine Tour
Ranked #4 of 243 things to do in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The UNESCO site is stunning. The visit we made to a port lodge was OK, but it's far nicer just to sit outside Sandemans and enjoy a glass or two of vinho verde with a Prego no Pao (steak sandwich).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mum2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,519
    1,672
    309
    62
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice boat trips”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If the weather is good, it will be worth to go on the cruise! the views are worth to appreciate. There are many choices of cruises with many prices, but the bigger cruises might be the better ones

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Douro Valley”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

One of the most stunning places I've ever been to (Not Porto, but Douro Valleys). We drove along the douro river, since we picked up the car in Porto, but I know that you can also catch a boat along the river. There's vineyards and small farms along steep sides of the river, You get a better view when driving, but the roads are very narrow and since the Portugese drive like crazy this takes quite a lot of your concentration going up the steep mountains. But once you get up there, the views will beat everything you've ever seen. If you like wine, make sure to book a visit with one of the many vineyards.

Just a warning, there wasn't a lot of restaurants along the part of the river we drove, and on a sunday everything seemed to be closed... So you might want to bring a bit of food with you!


UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank inaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Beating Heart Of The City”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A walk along the Douro is an amazing way to understand the City and its culture.
From the North side you can view all the Port houses that gave this beautiful City its wealth.
Walking along the ancient walls you can stop at the various small bars and view the wonderful
bridges and the lovely boats go by.
1 new attraction is the Spirit of Chartwell the Royal barge used at Queen Elizabeth's Diamond
Jubilee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryT1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Adore the Douro”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just the memory of sitting on the south side enjoying cocktails and appetizers watching the sun set while river boats and people pass by makes me miss this special city so much. I have to go back to experience it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Douro also viewed

 

Been to Rio Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing