We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting...excellent meal.”
Review of Restaurante Shis - CLOSED

Restaurante Shis
Price range: $26 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great setting...excellent meal.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

6 of us visited the restaurant for an excellent Sunday lunch. Very good menu made choosing difficult. Really enjoyable setting one of the best meals we had in Porto.

Helpful?
Thank CheshireDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    148
    41
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sushi quality dropped, a lot!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I repeated this restaurant several times in the last years and i was very disappointed with the sushi quality and with the prices. I got the feeling that the sushi was made in the day before.

I must confess that on thos dinner the only thing i enjoyed was the company, thelace and the excellent caramel fondant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely location, nice staff, good food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went for Sunday lunch without a reservation on the recommendation of the Concierge at the Intercontinental. He wasn't wrong. Service quietly efficient, with knowledgable staff, and a cool relaxed atmosphere. The food is 'modern', appetizing and fresh. Wine not too expensive either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got there before sunset and were early enough to get a window table. That is early for most people in Porto to eat so we didn't need reservations. If you come 8 p.m. on you will need them. The restaurant is right on the Atlantic; once the sun goes down forget the view. The food and service were good but to tell the truth, I remember the view not the food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gistgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a sunset view!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was suggested to us by the people who run Guest House Douro that eat here and time our visit for sunset. We took the trolley from the Ribeira and walked the last 10 minutes along the river to where it met the Atlantic. We got there as the sun was setting and the tide was coming in so the waves were crashing right at our feet practically - we had table by the windows.The food was very good - my wife had a filete de robalo and I had an extremely fresh piece of seared tuna. They have a sushi bar also. The clientele looked like professional types. I would go back here if I am ever in Porto again (I hope so) and would recommend it highly especially6 if you can get a table by the windows.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaxyfromAubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Shis also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing