We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portugal on it's finest”
Review of O Comercial

O Comercial
Reserve with
O Comercial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 1,657 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Portugal on it's finest”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my wife following others reviews on trip advisor, and as usual, it exceeded our expectations.
I dont know why it is rated as a $$$$ restaurant since we had the chef menu for 25€ and even the wine chart was correct.
The waiter was up to his job, gently suggesting a white porto wine for the start.
I certainly recommend this restaurant and will visit again!

Alexandre

Helpful?
2 Thank Alx Alfeirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    118
    40
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a welcome relief from the hot outdoor seating on the river!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had walked a long distance and all the restaurants down by the waterfront were filling up with smokers and the menus seemed really uninteresting. And it was really hot down there, so we headed up between the old stone shady buildings and ended up near the church, where we spotted a beautiful looking restaurant that had a Pizza sign outside. We saw the lovely table clothes and napkins and asked if we could just sit outside and have a pizza. The waiter said no, you can only drink outside, so I asked if we could come in wearing tee-shirts and shorts and he was delighted to let us in. We shared pastas and pizzas and nice cold beer, everything was delicious, fresh, and extremely reasonable in price. Wish he had been able to come back for dinner but that wasn't in the cards. The pizza oven is right behind the bar so fun to watch as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value lunch in a wonderful room”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Don't miss the €15 lunch in this fabulous building. You get a starter, choice of main course, dessert and a glass of wine for this price........about what you would pay here for your starter alone at night time!

The décor verged on being almost baroque in style; with chandeliers, black velvet covered seats and drapes, starched napery, and black crystal glasses.

One negative; for all it's amazing value and setting, the place seemed to lack atmosphere, this was probably due to the lack of customers.........for most of the time we were on our own! Despite this I would still highly recommend O Comercial for lunch and while you are there you shouldn't miss out on a guided tour of the Bolsa itself; it only takes 30 min and the Arab Room especially is well worth seeing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoppyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great value, food and location”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We bumped into this place whilst looking around the Church of St Francis next door. We took a chance and booked dinner for 20€ pp. We enjoyed the very pleasant service and the good quality food eg pâté de fois Gras with sardine (sounds weird. It was lovely!), duck with prune risotto, codfish etc It's difficult to find a nice spot in a strange city so we went back the following night.... Equally good. Interesting, slightly old fashioned decor but well presented food and good service. Some bottles of wine for about 15€. Well worth a go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for lunch at Ribeira, Porto”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This restaurant is the one located inside "Palácio da Bolsa" (there is another restaurant at the square nearby with the same name, but not at all related - be aware!). It offers a fantastic lunch special for only 15 euros (bread, appetizer, main, desert, wine and coffee) which, given the quality of the food (really good!!) and the décor, can be considered a real bargain. It serves Portuguese food with a contemporary touch, and has two daily options (fish or meat). If you like to eat well and enjoy a beautiful setting, do not miss "O Comercial" when you come to Porto.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tatiduailibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Comercial also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to O Comercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing