We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value set lunch!”
Review of O Comercial

O Comercial
Reserve with
O Comercial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 1,661 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic value set lunch!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

O Comercial, located in the Palacio da Bolsa, is a relatively formal restaurant with an upscale menu. The set lunch is a fantasic value!

The restaurant is located in a corner of the Palacio da Bolsa, which is Porto's chamber of commerce. The Palacio da Bolsa is one of Porto's main tourist attractions, and we timed our visit (guided tours only) to end in time for lunch.

O Comercial is set in 2 large, vaulted rooms. The lounge is quite ornate, while the restaurant is less decorated. In the restaurant, modern furniture and place settings provide a lovely contrast to the building. The seats by the window provide a view of the River Douro.

The set luunch is offered Monday through Friday. Only 15 Euros gets you an appetizer, a choice of a fish or meat dish, a dessert, water, a glass of wine and coffee. No substitutions: my wife asked for tea, which was charged extra - but for €15, this is understandable and perfectly OK!

Our waiter spoke perfect English and was very friendly, helpful and patient. He provided quite a formal service. This fit in well with the white tablecloths and napkins, and the contemporary dishware. We were very impressed by our waiter!

The food was truly excellent! O Comercial is actually quite trendy in their cuisine: they serve relatively small portions, carefully arranged and decorated. I would describe it as "modern European" in style, but the dishes themselves are based on local favorites.

I would not hesitate one minute to go back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david7031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    118
    40
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

You must visit this restaurant. It is located in the Palácio da Bolsa, one of the most beautiful places to see in Oporto.
The food,wine and desserts are excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cancelinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxury dining experience for great price”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Came here with my boyfriend on the last night of our stay in Porto. It is located in the former/current ?stock exchange buiding which from the outside looks like an old parliament or a palace-not like the venue for a restuarant. This just adds to the experience however-once inside you walk along echoing marble halls with large pillars and sculptures and artwork on the walls until you come to the restaurant, which is in a similarly spectacular room with tall windows and luxurious decoration. We opted for a seven course tasting menu which I would highly recommend.Every course was amazing and well presented-I recall a venison or boar spring roll served with a quail egg on top, a rich mushroom soup presented in a shot glass and extememly tasty fish main and I think there was a beef carpaccio in there somewhere too. The waiter could not have been more accomodating, translating the menu where necessary and recommending lovely and reasonable wines to accompany our meal. I think that, before tip, the meal came to €50 for two people and that included the wine. I honestly think it was the best value meal I ever had for food that I would expect to pay at least double for at home.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keeg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Setting”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

From Tripadvisor reviews we found this excellent restaurant located inside the Palacio da Bolsa. it is certainly worth finding. November is quiet in Porto but considering the quality of the food we were shocked that we were the only customers there. Despite that the food was outstanding. We had a lovely local Doura red wine and a bottle of water, 3 course meal, espresso and a 20 year old port for a total cost of 87 Euros. Given the quality of food that was outstanding.

I had Mushroom soup - it came accompanied by little pastries with sautéed mushrooms. John had the starter of a local sausage meat in a wrap with a fried (quails?) egg. The presentation and flavour were excellent. I then had turbot with mashed potato and creamed spinach while John had Octopus with a vegetable cousous - both main courses were again presented well and tasted lovely. Finally I had the chocolate fondant which was accompanied with a very coffee ice cream and John had a local desert with a mango sorbet. Then John had espresso and a 20 year old port to finish.

The restaurant is located inside the Palacio da Bolsa in an amazing room with beautiful furnishings and chandeliers. Go to the front entrance of the Palacio and ask for the restaurant - the staff speak English and will direct you. If we lived near this restaurant we would be there every week. If you go to Porto do seek it out as it really is worth the effort.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Skiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding..........”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The food was super. The wine was super. Everything SUPER.
It´s a pity it is so hard to find. Even the taxidriver couldn´t find it. There is no signs outside.

Helpful?
1 Thank dad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Comercial also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to O Comercial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing