We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com$88
eDreams$88
travelup.com$127
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
612
243
57
16
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
612
243
57
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the river free mini bar boutique hotel street musicians superior room lovely hotel reception staff stationary port square cafes minibar suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 931 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Can't rate this hotel highly enough. Had a wonderful stay, location was ideal and staff very helpful. Best of all we had an incredibly comfortable bed which is a must on a long holiday. Nicely refinished with a modern feel.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gerente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Porto AS 1829 Hotels' team has a goal of fulfilling all of our guests needs within reach. We thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you in a future visit to Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Great location and building, all you can eat tarts, fantastic rooms. Stay here. You wont be disappointed. It's a great value for the location. Rooms can be a bit small, but what they lack in size the hotel makes up for in quality and class.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gerente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

We would like to thank you for your thoughtful words about our Porto AS 1829 Hotel and its' staff. It was a pleasure having you here with us. We hope that we have managed to surpass your expectations and corresponded accordingly to your needs. It will be a great pleasure having you here with us once again in a future visit to Porto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Located in the Old Town, close to loads to restaurants and cafes. Short walking distance to the river and main waterfront.
The service was exceptional – free champagne and cake on my birthday!!
Friendly staff who gave us local recommendations and spoke perfect English.
Free pastéis de nata (Portuguese custard tarts) and port available all day every day.
We had breakfast one day – loads of options (both hot and cold)
I stayed in one of the more standard rooms but it was a very good size, separate shower (it was huge) and toilet. WIFI was included.

HIGHLY RECOMMENEND – in a great location, slightly quirky interior but modern and very clean.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gerente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you at Porto AS Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights. Highly recommend it - great location, nice rooms, quirky building - set above a shop and restaurant. Friendly, helpful young staff. It's on a steep hill (Porto is quite hilly!), so be warned if any of your party struggle with this.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gerente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you for your comment about your stay at Porto AS 1829 Hotel. Our guests' comments are very important to us because they allow us to grow everyday in order to fulfil all our guests needs and make sure they have a unique experience at our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you again at Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Fabulous hotel in a superb location for exploring Porto. Spotless, quiet, with great service. Have nothing negative to say about this gem of a boutique hotel. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emliju
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing D, Gerente at Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Porto AS 1829 Hotels' team has a goal of fulfilling all of our guests needs within reach. We thank you once again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you in a future visit to Porto AS 1829 Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews