We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
346
141
36
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
346
141
36
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman bath pedestrian street dining table and chairs nice bedroom steam room and sauna small wardrobe kitchen area perfect location terrace garden the river fourth floor great recommendations reception staff breakfast room is full kitchen sofa bed near the train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 552 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Our first impression wasn't great , we arrived around 7pm, there were 2 on reception a male & female, the female didn't look up and it took awhile for the male receptionist to look up. eventually we were checked in and taken to our room which I have to say wasn't what I was expecting. It was very small and very dark as we looked out onto a brick wall and the restaurant roof. we asked about changing but was told they were full. I wanted to change but my husband said for 3 nights it wasn't worth the aggro. Although very small the room was comfortable , the beds had beautiful linen and the bathroom again small was so clean and the dressing gowns & slippers were a bonus. Saying all this the hotel was wonderful and all the other receptionists were very smiley and great, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast room was really lovely and the breakfast good , I must say the waitresses at breakfast worked very hard always topping up the food and clearing the tables . We ate next door one evening and again the staff were very knowledgeable about the wines and the tapa's were wonderful . Having the hotel garden is a bonus I just wish we had booked an apartment so we could see it from our room. Sitting in the garden you wouldn't think you were in the centre of a busy city. Would we return to this hotel ? of course we would the location cannot be bettered , but would make sure we didn't get room 104 !!! Looked round the Spa but didn't use it.

Room tip: Go on the Yellow bus tour towards the castle as you get to see the beach area
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

I went with three friends for a long weekend in Porto, we chose this hotel due to it’s location and it ended up being a little oasis of calm in the middle of a vibrant and exciting city.
The Hotel and Spa is located a few hundred yards from San Bento station so is really easy to get to. It is only a small hotel with rooms and apartments, the rooms are spacious and comfortable with everything that you will need.
There is also a terrace garden which gets a lot of sun and is really peaceful, you could easily forget that you are on one of the main streets in a busy city. Breakfast is included and there is a wide selection on offer, from the traditional continental to a full English and pancakes, muffins etc, breakfast is included in the price (but taxes are not and are to be paid when you leave).
The location is ideal and within 5 minutes of not only the river, but a lot of the major attraction at the top of the hill (thankfully there is a back way into and out of the hotel, which let you out half way up the hill, saving the calf muscles some agony)
The Gym and Spa are well equipt, with Turkish baths, sauna and steam room. I used it each day I was there and never saw another person (but it was at 8am)
We were able to check in early and was offered a nice glass of Tawny port while we were checking in, staff wee very friendly and liberal with the port throughout our staff – definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darren1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

This is an odd hotel. We had reserved 2 King bed studios with kitchenettes with terraces on Booking.com. What we got were good sized rooms with a small kitchen and a small table with 2 chairs outside in a shared, rather ugly courtyard. We had to walk up and through 2 other buildings to get to our room. It was a long trip to get out the front door. The street in front of the hotel is closed to traffic. It was quite an ordeal to get our luggage from the garage a couple block away to our room. There is a back door on another street, but try as we might, we couldn't get it to work. The mattresses were beyond firm. The heater did not get warm enough to warm the apartment or even the bedroom. I can see by the photos that they are some lovely rooms in the hotel. We didn't have one of those. However, the hotel is well located, breakfast was in a beautiful room and was sufficient. They always had fresh fruit. They also have a spa with an unusual pool. It is done in black/purple light making it difficult to see all the sharp jutting edges. The steam room and sauna were nice, but only worked one day. We became quite fond of a close by restaurant that the hotel recommended: LSD. I would probably not stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

One of the nicest places I’ve stayed at. Lovely atmosphere, amazing location ! Breakfast included and free wifi throughout the hotel. Very helpful friendly staff. We were there for one week and have absolutely no complaints. There was even a kitchenette in our room. So handy! Spent a relaxing afternoon at the sauna and then Roman bath—so unique! In the garden are kiwis and limes growing profusely and the view from the lookout towards the cathedral is jaw-dropping! Can’t wait to go back!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Cjkncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed last week for 6 nights. We had a late afternoon flight but managed to negotiate the Metro without too many problems to arrive at the hotel. Reception staff were very welcoming with our first glass of Port straight away! We had a studio on the 2nd floor on the Main Street and there was some noise at night but it did not disturb us too much. We had tea & coffee making equipment and a fridge which we used. There was an oven,hob & microwave but all looked brand new as there were no pans, dishes etc to cook in. Breakfast was lovely with the staff constantly replenishing the buffet. There were good views from the top of the hotel and it was ideally situated within the city centre. We used the spa facilities a couple of times which were limited but nice to just chill for a short time

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NicTov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews