We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”

Adega Viseu No Porto
Ranked #661 of 2,205 Restaurants in Porto
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Tucked away on a street running alongside Sao Bento railway terminus is a short row of restaurants where Adega Viseu No Porto serves excellent fare. The octopus salad is recommended and the staff are friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2018

Recently I visit this horrible place because it was a local friend's recommendation to see if it would fit my clients expectations, once I'm constantly looking for local great places serving only Portuguese traditional food... but unfortunately, my experience was the worse possible as I was served rotten meat patties when I ordered some starters before the meal!
Their flavor was terrible and after the first bite I informed the waiter about the issue, but I had already swallowed that bite and immediately started to feel some stomach pain.
The thing got worse when trying to eat the rest of my meal pacifically at the terrace, I was hit with a soccer ball by the children of the tavern keepers (the owners), as they allow the kids to play on the street next to the tavern terrace, disturbing all the clients!!
Of course I complained but the owners didn't like to hear I would kick their children's butts if they would like to repeat the joke... and instead of being apologetic the tavern owner offered to beat me if I "would dare" to touch his brats!!
Lovely manners!!... not to mention the rotten food which forced me to see the doctor on the next day, to be diagnosed with a food poisoning!!
Please, avoid this place by all means if you care about your health and your physical integrity!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ana Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio B, Proprietário at Adega Viseu No Porto, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018
Google Translation

Não merecia resposta por não ser honesta. Mas pelo bom nome da casa sou obrigado a isso .Primeiro ponto devia fazer tratamento porquê a senhora é uma pessoa com problemas de alcoolismo. A senhora visitou a casa diversas vezes e sempre foi bem recebida apesar de diversas vezes criar mau ambiente por beber de mais e foi num desses dias que o filho dos (taberneiros ) de apenas cinco anos lhe disse que a senhora era uma pessoa má e eu o(Taberneiro) acrescento além de má é mentirosa sem escrúpulos. A senhora fez uma crítica má e grave sem consumir o tal dito rissol de carne ou sequer ter almoçado ou jantado nesta casa mais sim por uma questão de vingança . A intoxicação alimentar no hospital com certeza devem-lhe ter informado que era do álcool porquê não devia ter vestígios de comida .As tais crianças a jogar à bola se tive-se sóbria tinha reparado que não eram os filhos dos (TABERNEIROS) aqueles que a senhora disse que lhes batia sem mais nem menos aqueles que a senhora disse que não deviam existir porquê odeia crianças levando à intervenção do (Taberneiro) para ter cuidado com as palavras e ser convidada a sair e nunca mais voltar ao estabelecimento . Por Favor seja uma pessoa honesta e retrate-se. ASSINADO(TABERNEIRO)PAI do menino TOMÁS 5 anos e Tiago 11anos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

We waited such a long time for our food to arrive and when it finally did it came out at various times. Some had finished their meal before others had theirs. Unfortunately the fish did not taste fresh and we did not finish :

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

worst bar/restaurant in Porto. absolutely the worst experience of my 6 months in there! very unfriendly personnel and refuse to speak English because we visit Portugal and should speak Portuguese! So it is absolutely a letdown and not worth visiting this small restaurant!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jordain1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

During 5days in Porto I visited here everyday. The price is reasonable and foods are nice. Owner is also kind and well communicated everytime. Polvo, octopus, Pataniscas de bacalhau(codfish), tripa stew and omelet I took are nice!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Son2013sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega Viseu No Porto also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Adega Viseu No Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing