We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mexican restaurant ever”

Frida - Cocina Mestiza
Ranked #150 of 1,657 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: FRIDA is definitely different from what you are used to when you think of a Mexican Restaurant. It's maybe one of it's kind in Europe as it aims to conjugate the more traditional with the more avant-garde flavours, scents and colours of a country whose food has been recognized very recently as World Heritage by UNESCO. Mexican food, one of the most rich and varied in the world is presented in FRIDA with many of its magnificent details, with a surprising menu that transforms your visit in a discovery of different tastes that will certainly make you travel through time and space, and make you feel like your sharing a meal with Moctezuma himself. Hope to see you soon. Hasta muy pronto!
Didam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Best mexican restaurant ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I spent with my wife a weekend in Porto, a very beautiful city. One of the best food experiences that I have in mind was our visit to Frida. We met the friendly owners at a sportsbar during the Worldcup footballmatch Mexico vs. The Netherlands (juni 2014). After the match we celebrated the victory of our team at Frida. What a plesent surprise!!! It was our best restaurant in Porto! The taste of the typical and very original mexican food was very delicious!! The restaurant was very well decorated. The service was friendly and attentive and the food was outstanding. It was our best mexican restaurant ever! Totally recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your visit. In spite it was a sad day for the Mexican National Team and against The Netherlands, and even in spite of what Robben did to us, you just made our night with your sympathy and your constant smile.
It was definitely our pleasure to receive you and after receiving a review like yours we are just speechless.
Thank you, Gracias, Obrigado, Dank
FRIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    93
    38
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Without a doubt, this is the finest Mexican food that I have ever had the pleasure to taste. The food is beautifully prepared and of an excellent quality - not TexMex. The restaurant is upscale with wonderful and friendly service. It is advisable to make a reservation as it was quite busy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hola Karen,
It is not enough the space available in this reply to say how happy you made us with your review. But what better review can we have that when someone comes to have lunch with us and immediately makes a reservation for dinner.
You are such a beautiful and nice couple and it was just completely wonderful to receive you and have the honor of serving you, so we are so glad you like it.
We hope to see you again and who knows maybe visit you and keep our promise of taking you our Chiles en Nogada :)
Gracias,
FRIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exquisite Place, Exquisite Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This place serves as authentic Mexican food as it can get. The only other restaurant we can compare this with - is Fronterra Grill by Rick Bailey in Chicago. So Menu is not in English and the place is not in busy town center, and that it's less than 3 months old. But once you go beyond these cliche, you'll find food and service to make a memorable experience. The spices and ingredients are imported from Mexico and Chef is Mexican herself. Every corner and decor in the restaurant is Mexican. Owners are present themselves all the time paying attention to guests. However, the highlight is food. It's amazingly well cooked, spiced and presented. If you don't understand Portuguese menu, they will take enough time to explain everything on it. Dessert was an absolute aha moment for us! This restaurant has made it to our all time favourite list. Cannot say more.. Go and try yourself. In any case - within a year, this would be rated as the best Mexican restaurant in Portugal..

PS - Runs five days a week from Wed to Sun

Helpful?
1 Thank mitul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi my good friends,
It was an honour to meet you and to have the possibility to show you some of our different recipes that we serve with so much care and that gives us such an immense pleasure when is received in such a good manner by our guests.
Thank you for your visit and for your review and most definitely for having the opportunity of knowing you.
Hope you have the most pleasant stay in Porto and a nice trip home.
Gracias,
FRIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Fantastic food, brilliant cocktails and great service. The menu was in Portuguese and Brazilian, however the waiter translated everything and made some recommendations.

Everything we ate was absolutely lovely and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinAndGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Manager at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hi Gin and Ginger,
Thank you very much for your visit. It was our pleasure to receive you.
And at the end be rewarded with this fabulous review was just breathtaking.
Hope you have had a pleasant stay in Oporto and I'm sure we'll meet again some day, so we'll just say for now... Hasta Luego!!!
FRIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant with great food, but room for improvement”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Let me start with the best part: The food was really well made, with great quality and an interesting, modern take on Mexican cuisine - it's definitely not your average Mexican restaurant with the Texmex-clichee-food and that makes it interesting. The only flaw in what could have been otherwise a perfect dinner was the service. Don't get me wrong, the waiters were friendly and helpful, speaking decently English. However, everything was a bit slow and not very well coordinated with the kitchen, maybe because they lack as a new restaurant the experience or our big group size. Either way, dishes arrived not at the same time, orders got lost, etc. - nothing horrible, but in the sum still rather tedious and a particular contrast to the food quality (and prices). Yet with a more attentive service and maybe some more generiosity in terms of serving sizes or extras this could become a great place for a not-so-typical Porto dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Z F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRIDA_CocinaMestiza, Gerente at Frida - Cocina Mestiza, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your visit and for having some minutes to review us, because your opinion is very important to us.
We are very happy you loved our food and we are sorry for any flaws you've find in our service. As you say yours was such a big group that as in any similar circumstances the service usually takes a little bit longer and specially because, as was the case, there were people who just asked for an entry and those who asked for an entry, a soup, a salad and a main course which led to different times of service and therefore making those who didn't ask for so many dishes feel some waiting times as others who have asked for more dishes were always eating.
Thanks again for your review and be sure we'll take in consideration your opinion to improve even more our service and god willing have the fortune of receiving your visit once again.
Hasta muy Pronto!!!
FRIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida - Cocina Mestiza also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Frida - Cocina Mestiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing