We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 3 nights here. Rooms were clean, neat and safe. Staff were helpful and provided us with what we required. Well priced and would. Recommend it to others travelling to Porto. Found this place on trip advisor

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    104
    113
    25
    22
See reviews for
34
136
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Honore de Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, at walking distance from services and a lot of tourist attraction.
Staff is friendly and very helpfull, my husband and I speak french and they all made the effort to speak french to us
We had the economic double room wich was very small but clean
We were at the 5th floor and had difficulty to acces the free wifi from our room
We ask to change room but the hotel was full, so we had to acces internet from the lobby
The first 4 floors look nicer than the two other one so if you have a chance ask for a room on those floor
The breakfast is ok but a little bit costy

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd, 3th or 4th floor, they look more modern and the wifi will be easier to acces
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

-towels were old and cracked
-visitors were not allowed to go to the room at 9am (2h before check out) not even to pick up a coat or the suitcase. they had to wait on the street. That remind us to Portugal in the 50´s.
-Doors didn´t close well
-noise rooms
-We are not comming back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porto hotels

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

central location, otherwise pretty terrible:
unfriendly staff
horrible plastic cover on mattresses so its like sleeping in a sweaty plastic bag
wifi works for a few minutes then dies on end
no plug sockets in the bedroom! (or only TV socket, which is 3m off the ground).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_W111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel--right on liberty square, just down the street from the Intercontinental Hotel. It was easy to find once we got off the metro and had a lot of restaurants nearby to enjoy. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and willing to spend time talking about things to see and places to eat. The rooms are in need of an update, but since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it wasn't a big deal. The WIFI worked fine and was free.

Room Tip: We chose a family room with four beds. We got one double and two twins which worked well for us. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

For the price, you really couldn't ask for a better hotel. It is in an excellent location. We walked down to the water (10-15min) and back to the hotel without any problems, and we saw nearly everything we wanted to see along the way. Parking was two blocks away and cost us 12 euros. The lady at reception was very helpful and spoke perfect English. There was an elevator to the room but you do have to bring your bags up the first flight of stairs. Our room was very quiet despite all the students hanging out outside. Shower was fine with a full-size bathtub (not the tiny cubicle in some hotels). Room was clean but nothing fancy. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the city, within walking distance to the riverfront. Hop-on, hop-off buses right outside. Good restaurants close by. Liliana, the receptionist, provided a vast amount of info about Porto and also helped plan our trip throughout the rest of Portugal. Her recommendation of Nazare was spot on! The rooms may not be luxurious but Liliana makes up for it. Room was clean, comfortable but lighting could be improved upon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekkingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#88 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#65 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#64 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Girassol
Residencial Girassol
#81 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Avenida dos Aliados 38, Porto 4000-064, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Universal 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an elegant and old avenue "Avenida dos Aliados," in the heart of the historical center of Porto, the Hotel Universal is surrounded by some of the most emblematic buildings of this city and in a central point to reach on foot touristic sights one can’t miss such as: The City Hall, Trindade Church, S. Bento Railway Station, Clérigos Tower, The Cathedral Douro Riverhood. If you want to go further, you have a railway station or an underground station both in less than 3 minutes on foot. One can’t miss neither a boat trip through the magnificent Douro River, nor the night view of the old part of the town near the river, where you can taste a good meal and a delightful Porto wine. Our hotel offers you a personalized service in a joyful, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. We guarantee the best prices and we’ll help our guests to get the most out of their trip calling our receptionists’ advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing