We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the discerning”
Review of Yours Bistro

Yours Bistro
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Yours Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,743 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: YOURS Bistro is the perfect place to discover the traditional portuguese cuisine and enjoy some of the best portuguese wines in our cosy restaurant room or in our sunny green terrace appreciating one of the best views in town Want to make sure you'll find a table? Make a reservation now. Check our daily menus on Facebook!
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sorry to contradict all reviewers, but we just wanted to give our honest appraisal of the restaurant. We had been looking forward to our meal, given all the positive comments on TA, and booked our table as a result.

The restaurant feels like an institution - think boarding house or youth hostel. First impressions are not good, as you walk through the entrance to the guest house, past the stairwell, past the kitchen and finally into a musicless room with a cat wandering about and lumpy and mismatching table runners, bright unshaded lights and paper napkins.

We arrived at 8.07, ordered our steak when we finally got the menu and eventually ate at 8.55, almost passing out with hunger. The steak was very thin so ordering it medium rare was pointless as it was grey right through. We had also asked that the accompanying sauce be served on the side, but this never came at all. Potatoes were nice, if unevenly cooked, but the courgettes were swimming in grease and not something I enjoyed. It was not unpleasant or tasteless, just disappointing.

The staff are attentive and very polite, though slow. It's a family run restaurant and everybody tries hard to please. That's why I feel sorry criticising the food but it was honestly not up to standard and pricey for what you receive on your plate. We only had the steak for two, one glass of wine and one small bottle of water and the bill came to 31.50.

Had you been out hiking all day and wanted something hot before you crash in your bed, it would probably be a welcome meal, but as a treat when you're on holiday? No way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andre_amorim, Proprietário at Yours Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hello MrsSparty,
firstly we have to thank you for your comment and the fact that you've have enjoyed our food overall. That is why Tripadvisor works so well, it is a democratic platform, so you don't need to apologize for your comment - it is very welcome and we must learn with it.

Obviously we don't comment opinions, but there are some misunderstandings that must be detailed:
- "...everybody tries hard to please" - We don't try hard, is our mission - provide to our customers unique moments, suiting wants and needs to your own tastes, while maintaining superior levels of quality and safety, contributing to the rebuilt of the Porto city center;

- "The restaurant feels like an institution - think boarding house or youth hostel"
1 - We are a GuestHouse, 65% of our costumers are in between 35-55 years old;
2 - We manage a Bistrô with high standards of quality. For now we don't aim to be a Michelin star Restaurant, but we always have music and sometimes our cat have fun in the garden ;-)
3 - a handycraft store in our reception.

- "We only had the steak for two, one glass of wine and one small bottle of water and the bill came to 31.50."
1 - The steak costs 13,5€ is a 250 grs filet mignon steak.
2 - the most expensive wine glass that we have is a "Duas Quintas" a fantastic prize star wine that costs 7€/Glass; the averave price of a glass of wine costs 3€.
3 - the bottle of water 500 ml costs 1,2€;

Our values and Pillars are:
Values:
(1) Proximity - we are not doing a Hotel, we are making a home. We must know our customers wants and needs in order to fulfill them the best way possible and with the naturalness that characterizes us;
(2) Culture - without being pretentious, we will always be associated with a certain state of art. It is normal for us it is in our DNA, so do not be surprised if you see people painting, sewing or playing music. YOURS, be are our guest!
(3) HomeMade – the things we sell and we produce come from local craftsmen or agriculture (everytime is possible) products we obviously privileged.

Pillars:
(1) Quality - we will invest in high quality products and in small details in our (Guest)House. Our products will be best so we have a great towels, fantastic pillows, fresh and housie potatoes, homemade jams and heather honey! It's in the details that we live in.
(2) Talent - let's start from the beginning. We know that we have no tradition of running a Hotel or in catering. The best employees for us are reliable people, students who identify with our project, that serves with care and in on a pleasant way. This motivation allows to sustain growth.
(3) Convenience - the word affection could replace this pillar. We want people to feel good in our Home as if they could recreate THEIRS.

Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Yours Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 697 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had the best meal of our stay in Porto at Yours Guest House. Real home cooking of a very high standard,extremely friendly staff and a homely atmosphere. We had fillet steak cooked to perfection, a goats cheese and salad starter and chocolate mousse and it was.a most economic meal. The menu was varied including vegetarian options. It's in a quiet back street just off Rua Das Flores - but it's well worth the effort to find it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andre_amorim, Gerente de relações públicas at Yours Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015

Sue C,
Thank you, verty much, for choosing "Yours Bistrô” and for your enthusiastic review
We’re proud to know that we contributed for you to take a nice memory of your stay in Porto.
All our thoughts and doings are to make our hosts feel welcomed in our country and, particularly, in our town.
We hope you come back. See you someday soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

André and Luisa are one of the most wonderful hosts that I met in the world.

Besides the place "feels like home" you'll get excellent food, cool design and the hosts did I already mentioned :-) ?

Don´t miss the patio for an afternoon drink.

Really a place to go in a trip to Porto and don´t forget to visit the guest house.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nuno T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andre_amorim, Gerente de relações públicas at Yours Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2015
Google Translation

Nuno T,
Muito obrigada por ter dado a sua preferência à Yours Guesthouse e ao Yours Bistrô
Agradecemos, também, o seu simpático comentário
Ficamos muito orgulhosos por saber que contribuímos para que ficasse com uma recordação agradável de sua estadia no Porto.
Esperamos voltar a vê-lo muito em breve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

André is a worderfull host, always ready to tell unheard stories about Porto. The food is excelent and the patio is really great for an end of afternoon Gin.
This place is a must go in your trip to Porto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katatua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andre_amorim, Gerente de relações públicas at Yours Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

katatua, it's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our place.
thank you for choosing Yours Guesthouse and Yours Bistrô..
We hope to have you back someday soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have 1 word or 4 syllables for this place: O-RI-GI-NAL!!!

The place feels like home
The owner feels like home
The food feels like home, but much more original!

The moment you step in, it feels like finding a hidden treasure.
High Quality, Low Prices, Beautiful Area & Atmospheric design!
What more can you wish?

Ask for the secret tips about Porto and you will find more hidden treasures..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Deniz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andre_amorim, Gerente de relações públicas at Yours Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Dear Deniz G, if anyone was original it was certainly YOU.
Thank you for choosing "Yours Guesthouse" and "YoursBistrô” and for your enthusiastic and amazing review
We’re proud to know that we contributed for you to take a nice memory of your stay in Porto.
All our thoughts and doings are to make our hosts feel welcomed in our country and, particularly, in our town.
We hope you come back. See you someday soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yours Bistro also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Yours Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing