We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in Porto”

Ponte de Dom Luis I
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Porto Urban Walking Trail 7km
Ranked #1 of 246 things to do in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1886, this bridge links Porto and Gaia.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best view in Porto”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A marvellous -looking bridge that you can stroll along enjoying great views of The Douro & Porto.Not to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,002
    3,966
    425
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
552 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Stunning Vantage point”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Keep clear of the tram lines and enjoy the views over the old town and plan a route up through the Port Caves. Majestic bridge taking us from the Sao Bento and Cathedral areas across to the Monastery and the promise of the aforementioned Port Caves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Views!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not gonna lie, I was way to nervous to walk all of the way across the bridge...but I am very, very afraid of heights! There were many people, including my mom, who were doing it. But I couldn't. However, there were amazing views! Even from where I could make it out to! I highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is Porto”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A lot of things to say about Porto, but above all I would said that this bridge is the Porto's esence. Is almost impossible not to see it (even if you aren't looking for it) and have some great and cheap restaurants close.

The main atraction about this bridge is not the bridge at all: is to watch the kids that jump from it to the river.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gbrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Porto landmark”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

You can't visit Porto without a walk across this emblematic bridge. The key though is to visit at more than one time of the day as the city changes as the day progresses...if you're really lucky you'll get a glimpse with the fog wrapped around it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ryanopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte de Dom Luis I also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Ponte de Dom Luis I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing