We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place, good price”
Review of Hotel Grande Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grande Rio
Ranked #74 of 168 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a very simple accomadation, but it was cheap and a little dated. We didn't really spend much time in the hotel. Our room was pretty small, but then again I think you get what you pay for. In the evenings we bought a well priced, cold beer from the reception/bar and enjoyed in the little outdoor space. They also kept our champagne in their fridge so we could enjoy it nicely chilled. We didn't have a breakfast in hotel, as just a little bit down the cobbled street towards the town center was a local cafe-bakery, we had freshly baked pastries, coffee and juice there every morining for about 5EUR per person. Only weird thing about the hotel was a plastic sheet between mattress and a bed sheet. Walking wasn't an issue for us as it gave an opportuity to see a little more of the city. It's an easy, straight walk, not many twists and turns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keikei_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel was a reasonable place to stay in Porto. The location is close to a metro station but a 30 minute walk uphill from the city centre.

The rooms had very thin walls which didn't give good sound insulation.

Breakfast was good and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is located close to the metro station, making it easy to get into it and moving during your stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms average size, basically equipped. Not new, but kept clean. The first day we had a problem in the air - not warmed - but the problem has been resolved. We also had a problem with a lack of hot water but it failed to do. Breakfast basic but fresh. As a budget hotel as most worthy of command.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Though our memories of Porto are the warmest ones we disliked the hotel we picked out. There are several weighty arguments for such dislike:
1. The rooms are tiny with no sound insulation (U are aware of what your neighbors engaged with & so do they)
2. The bathrooms are terribly tiny as if constructed for gnomes (when taking a shrink shower water floods there and everywhere)
3. The location is far enough from the main places of interest; more than that the hotel stands upland so getting back was tiresome
4. Wouldn’t call the staff friendly; they behave “authoritatively”, in addition irretrievably damaged the pants sent to their laundry and returned them the last minute before our departure without saying about their negligence (such a farewell present)

The only indisputable good thing in that hotel is breakfast. The price for rooms is moderate, but forking out some + 10-15 Euro one can find far more convenient accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninkhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice budget hotel. Unfortunately it's quite far away form the historic Porto center. You have to use subway. Hotel is quite old, so are the rooms. But they are kept clean. If you've got a car - there's parking available, but it's 100m away. If you're looking for cheap stay and don't expect much it should be your choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hare_otoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location - Although the hotel is situated slightly out of the main centre of Porto it is still in a convenient location. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the metro station (Faria Guimaraes or Marques which are both on the yellow line). From either of these metro stations it is just a few minutes journey to Trindade Metro station where it is possible to change to any of the other metro lines including the one to the airport. A few minutes further and you arrive at Sao Bento metro station beside the main train station. From here it is only a few minutes walk to the Cathedral and other attractions.

Room - The room was a good size and was very clean. It had air conditioning which was remote controlled. The ensuite was clean but slightly on the small side particularly the shower. At night it was very quiet with no outside noise which made for a good nights sleep. There was free Wi-Fi in the hotel but this was only available in the reception area and not in the room where I was staying.

Breakfast - The breakfast was very good indeed with a good choice. There was cold meat, cheese, a choice of cereal, rolls, muffins, yogurt, juice, tea and coffee. Whilst the breakfast room was quite small there was never any problem getting a table.

Staff - The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Neighbourhood - I walked back to the hotel late at night from the metro station and always felt safe. The surrounding area appears to be mainly residential and thus was quite quiet.

Overall the hotel was great value for money and a lovely place to stay. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My father and I traveled Europe for a month and this hotel had the best breakfast by far. Location was so-so and parking was difficult to say the least. The streets in this neighborhood are very tight. Local transportation is roughly a 8-10 min walk from hotel. The overall location of this hotel was good but not great. Wifi in public areas only which is basically located on the first floor inside a bar. Everytime I was using the wifi I was 1 of 3 people in the bar. Staff was friendly and attentive and I would certainly consider this place of great value considering the huge breakfast they offer you! I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Porto for a few days to visit the Porto cellars and exploring the immediate region!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Caio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#65 of 108 in Porto
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sao Jose
Hotel Sao Jose
#58 of 108 in Porto
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seculo Hotel
Seculo Hotel
#40 of 108 in Porto
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#38 of 168 in Porto
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Garden House Hostel Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grande Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Rio

Address: Rua do Bonjardim, 977 / Entrada: Rua de Santa Helena, 31, Porto 4000-461, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Grande Rio 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grande Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Grande Rio Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing