We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Gaia(Porto)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
73
211
138
34
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
211
138
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomtop flooraliados metro stationgreat locationusual continental selectionhamhelpful reception staffthe rivercoffee and juiceideal hotelbest featuretourist informationwalking distancefree wificity hotelrooms are cleanwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 483 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Found this to be a good tourist hotel. Exceptionally friendly, helpful reception staff. Room at front fine but fairly basic and a little old fashioned. Bed a bit hard for me. Good size bathroom with bidet and over bath shower. Door between bed and bath rooms is obscured glass so does let in light to bedroom in morning as bathroom has just nets at windows. Wifi good in our room (302). Ear plugs may be handy in rooms at front - trade off noise against views. Would consider staying here again, probably deserves better than an 'Average' score but not really up to 'Very Good'.

Location is very good: from Aliados metro, go up escalator or lift, walk up the square and it's first road on left. Really just a minute's walk.

Warning for anyone unsteady on feet: there are 3 steps up from lobby to lift; lift only goes to floor 7 meaning 2 flights walk up to breakfast room on floor 8; no rubber mat in bath.

Breakfast simple but adequate. Machine coffee better than average. Great views from balcony. Later in evening same room is used as a bar but no-one in when we tried it. Shame as it's a great view at night over the square and city but no atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms on front can get a lot of street noise, traffic and people. Also Sunday night into Monday early hours street cleaning, bin emptying, rush hour noise. But you do get the great view of the square!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very professionally run, this city centre hotel delivered on all counts - hospitality, comfort and cleanliness, and in our case, a spacious junior suite for 3 adults. The breakfast room was on the topmost floor (8th) accessible by lift to 7th floor, then a flight of steps. Good choice on offer, something for every taste. Could be crowded from 8.30 to 9.00 - before or after that time, it was fine, and all foods replenished constantly.

A special mention for the 24hr reception staff - they were so helpful, courteous and friendly.

I would definitely stay in this central hotel again if in Porto. Bus and rail links very convenient - don't miss Sao Bento station for its tiles!!

Venicefan75
Wales

Room Tip: The junior suites are very spacious - there's one twin and one double room with bathroom in them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venicefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated between the Trindade and Aliados metro stations which makes it easy to get to and from the airport. There are a range of shops, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance of the hotel, but if you want to spend time in the river front area of the Ribeira, be prepared fro a 15 minute uphill walk back. We found the hotel a bit dated and our room bared no resemblance to the ones shown on the website. The walls are thin so you can hear other guests in the rooms around you whenever they come and go. The breakfast room on the 8th floor was at times a bit chaotic, probably not helped by the fact that on the first couple of days of our stay, the outside terrace area wasn't open because of the weather. Breakfast was quite simple consisting of ham, cheese and cold sausage with various breads, cereals, nice cakes, tinned fruit and yogurts, however they ran out of English tea twice during our stay. We found the reception staff to be helpful and friendly. Overall, we felt that the hotel provided good, clean budget accommodation for exploring the sights of Porto.

Room Tip: We were in room 406 at the back of the hotel overlooking neighbouring buildings, so it was quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff is great and very helpfull, breakfast is not much of a variety but it's ok for a few days. The location is perfect, easy to find, and close to 2 metrostations. Great shower and cleen rooms. We expected a bar, but there was no bar. Staff suggested to bring some drinks to our room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolanda1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

High on the hill in old town.
The location is close to many reasonable cafes restaurants coffee shops.
Across the street from Guarany
Restaurant a do not miss at any cost kind of place.

Note: in Portugal the waiter will bring to the table that which was not ordered.
He just brought us bread and tapas. We asked on the house or how much?
2,50£, he replied. We could not pass it up and said alright.
Be aware you will be charged for everything brought to your table whether you ordered it or not.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews