We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Ranked #56 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a total of 4 nights, this hotel was smack in the middle of a great Port city of Porto, walked to almost all of the scenic attractions by foot and restaurants, I would recommend this hotel if you're a tourist arriving there by public transportation as parking can be an issue, free WI-FI and great services.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sockeye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    184
    123
    28
    19
See reviews for
48
220
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Maybe the young lady at the desk just didn't know. But there certainly is a laundromat nearby. We are quite certain, because we went there. They told us about it at the tourist information office...It's called A Lavandeira, a self-service laundry in Rua da Conceição. If you were worried about your dirty clothes and looking for a place to wash them while in town, here is the answer. The space is small but the machines are enough for all your clothes. From 8 to 13kg, their capacity equals your needs. For 4,90€ (8kg) or 8,90€ (13kg) your clothes will be clean in 30 minutes or one hour, depending on the chosen program of washing. And it's walking distance from this hotel. Great little breakfast spot up the street on the next corner, too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blauner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genzano di Roma, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is very basic, but you have everything you need: A quiet room, a nice large bathtub, and the friendliest service of any hotel I have every stayed at. Breakfast was normal, with a nice view. Rooms are clean and if you are out all day, it is a nice place. No, it is not luxury, but it is clean and friendly and the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank may_in_rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
347 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I just left this fine reasonably priced hotel yesterday and I can attest to its goodness.It is centrally located off of Avenida Aliados,Porto's main street very close to the Aliados Metro Station.My room was very comfortable,the buffet breakfast was quite good.and the staff was very helpful.Although the desk staff spoke and understood English well.they were kind enough to allow me the opportunity to practice my Portuguese with them.another bonus.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher up room with a great view of Aliados and its splendid architecture.if the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just used the Hotel for a couple of Hours, but since last time they improved a lot, they now have a cocktail bar on the top floor, which is open until midnight, you can enjoy the night view from the city, which is priceless!
Lovely staff, very central...what else can you ask for? :) I ll definetly recommend it and will visit it again.

Room Tip: Ask for superior rooms or rooms with balcony, lovely view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carlasamorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in a "superioir room". It turns out that the bed is just slightly bigger than a single bed. It is also too short for someone being just above average tall. Furthermore the bed makes noise when you make the slightest move in it, walking both persons up. We checked out after the first night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porto hotels

Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I were attracted to this hotel because of its quirky advertising and we were not disappointed. The staff was polite at all times and very helpful, the room although not the largest, met all of our needs over a five night stay, (apart from being unable to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room, but then again we were in Portugal and not England and there was a coffee machine next to the reception desk). We asked for a balcony room and we were lucky enough to get one. The breakfast room(s) were on the top floor, the balcony (smoking allowed), would have been far nicer had it been made non-smoking during breakfast time. The indoor breakfast room and landing, not as bad as it sounds, (the landing stairwell is worth viewing from this point, as long as you do not suffer from vertigo), were non-smoking. The breakfast was cold continental with plenty of choice. The hotel position is ideal for central Porto and for the price range could not be beat, with the stations, buses etc., all within easy walking distance. Both my wife and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. Note: the entrance to the hotel is just passed the corner/junction and unless you look up for the hotel sign it looks like an office block entry door and can be easily missed. Robert and Wendy Taylor, Bournemouth, UK

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, if you are lucky you can sit outside in the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#63 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#60 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Cruz Porto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Cruz Porto Hotel

Property: Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Address: Rua de Ramalho Ortigao 14, Porto 4000-407, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vera Cruz Porto Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vera Cruz Porto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Cruz Residential Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing