We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location for all of Porto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Fantastic area for all that Porto has to offer. Close to the metro, bus station, shopping, sight seeing tours and the river. Everywhere is walkable but beware it is all uphill and down dale, but that is all of Porto not just this area.
We booked directly with the hotel as their booking advice offered a smoking option which the cheaper deals didnt, but smoking is only allowed in the rooms with balconies and you must use the balcony as the smoking area, so were disappointed not to be allocated to such.
Nevertheless our room was more than suffice. A wonderful bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was good with a scenic view of the city. All the staff spoke excellent Engish and were helpful and poite. We would use this hotel again without doubt.

Room Tip: The double rooms appear a little cramped but the comfy beds are set into wooden bedsteads so beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 458 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Pleasent stay, helpfull receptionist, gives a lot of information about the city.
Tips: tourist information, 100m, you canon book à free city tour with guide.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank Rob1967_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Probably the whole of Porto is walkable from this hotel. Location was excellent but the rooms were really tiny. The AC didnt really work, it was a lot quicker to cool the room by just opening the windows.

Nothing to complain except that they wanted to charge us for phone calls we never made. Also, I'd search for another hotel if we ever head back to Porto next time just because the rooms were really small.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree3te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I spend four nights in the Vera Cruz Residential hotel. The hotel has just so wonderful location close to the Av. dos Aliados - just ca. 2 minutes walking distance from Aliados Metro Station and ca. 5 minutes walking distance from Trindade Metro Station (thanks to it arriving from the airport is so easy!). It is also close to the bus station no 500 – in case one wished to go to Foz. If someone has a night flight, there is even a night bus station (bus 3 M) just in the Av. dos Aliados (ca. 1 minute walking distance from the hotel). The hotel is also situated close to the Froiz Supermarket (ca. 2 minutes walking in the direction of Trindade Metro Station), if someone wishes to buy water, other soft drinks, some snacks etc.
Before my arrival, I sent emails to the hotel asking about free wi-fi and a room with Grand Plaza view – I received answers from the hotel very quickly and I was given the room I asked for. It was also free wi-fi available in the whole hotel. Even if the Av. dos Aliados is a busy street, the windows are so good that I didn't hear any noise inside my room.
There is also a very nice breakfast restaurant on the 8 th floor in that hotel, so one can enjoy a nice Porto view having breakfast. I can truly recommend that hotel to everyone visiting Porto!

Room Tip: I like the city view, so I asked a room with the Grand Plaza view - I liked it very much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darshwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here last summer with my family and had a great holiday but did not get much sleep as the noise was very bad. But apart from that it was ok, the staff were friendly, it's a great location,the food was good. The kids had a great time as there was lots of activities for them plus the staff were great with them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cc9fcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Positives:
1. Staff are extremely friendly, caring and helpful.
2. Great location - a 10 min walk down (and I mean down) to the river
3. Nice view from the roof-top breakfast room

Negatives:
1. Stuffy, outdated décor
2. Small rooms, with extremely uncomfortable bed (and I am really not fussy about bed-quality)
3. Damp bathroom with inadequate airflow - mould on the ceiling and walls
4. Breakfast was low-quality with little choice

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had a simple standard room (the least expensive option)

Cons:
- Room smelled really, really awful
- Shower was tiny, water got all over the floor, the bottom of the curtain had mold. But pressure and temperature were good.
- Asking price (60 euros) is too high for the quality
- WiFi costs money, but it is available in the rooms

Pros:
- Well located right by the Aliados metro station. Not far from the touristy area. Right by the main tourist office.
- Really nice breakfast room. Pretty good all you can eat breakfast including yogurt and canned fruit, cereal and the standard bread and cheese.
- Flat screen tv with cable, but the tv was really far away from the bed and kind of hard to see.
- Elevator.

I would not stay again because of the smell and the nasty shower.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariposa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 108 in Porto
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#53 of 108 in Porto
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#48 of 108 in Porto
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#64 of 108 in Porto
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Cruz Porto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Cruz Porto Hotel

Address: Rua de Ramalho Ortigao 14, Porto 4000-407, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $49 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vera Cruz Porto Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vera Cruz Porto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Cruz Residential Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing