We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel close to Old Porto”
Review of AC Hotel Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Porto
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A modern hotel close to Old Porto”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have chosen this hotel because I had a free night certificate. It's not in downtown but it's about 5 minutes walk to a subway station within Zone 2. Given the parking and traffic difficulties at downtown Porto, I recommend that you leave the car at hotel and take the subway to go to downtown. There are plenty street parting spaces around the hotel and they are free. The hotel is a 4-star hotel and the decor is contemporary. The room is a typical AC hotel room which had model furniture and not too small. The bathroom is spacious with a tub. But the design of the bath tub glass doesn't shield well the shower. You need to keep the shower head low in order not to spill water out onto the floor. There is also missing soap dish or the counter is missing the soap place as in the other AC hotel. After you use the soap, the soapy water makes the sink county dirty. We were given a room facing the highway but the noise is barely audible. The breakfast is 8 euros with the typical European breakfast. The only thing missing is the Pastel de Nata which I'm quite surprised because this is a such popular pastry that you can see them everywhere where pastries are sold. I also wish there are coffee and tea maker.

Room Tip: Take the subway to go to Old Porto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Good Morning Ms. Sophie L.,

First of all, and on behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto. Your opinion is really important to us so it’s always a great pleasure and a big privilege to have such positive comments from your side.

Regarding the "Pastel de Nata" we will address that item to our Food & Beverage Department.

Thank you once again for your comments. We remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Tito Coelho
Customer Care Service
AC Porto by Marriott
acporto@ac-hotels.com
00351225072650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    328
    107
    17
    11
See reviews for
97
254
26
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We like this hotel for the location, the clean and spacious rooms and the effective staff. It's location is excellent as a base to move around the city either by car or by subway. Other than the paid underground parking there aren't many free parking alternatives on the street and it was a bit crowded when we arrived, but with a little bit of creativity everybody managed to get a spot (there are also plenty of spots in close-by streets, but we really didn't feel like taking the walk through deserted streets at night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Service at AC Hotel Porto, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Nuno O,

Thank you for choosing AC Hotel Porto by Marriott on your recent visit to Porto and for your kind words.

I am very glad to hear that you have spent a nice time at our hotel and that you enjoyed your room and the way that our staff made you feel during your stay. Recognition its always welcome and give us encouragement to continue working in order to meet our guests expectations.

Regarding to parking spaces on the street, there may be days when they are busier, but indeed there are several free possibilities next to the hotel.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Serviço de Apoio ao Cliente / Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I flew to Porto, Portugal for one reason, to see FC Porto play PSG and Sporting. So this was the ideal hotel for me. After traveling all the way from America all night to get there in the morning (7a.m) to be told by staff that I wouldn't be able to be in my room by 3p.m was very upsetting. I literally fell asleep with my bags in there hallway feeling like a bum. But after that long dragged out day, it was great. I voiced my opinion to the staff, and they made my stay great. The spa is classy, the view is the field of my favorite team, FC Porto. Its a quick taxi ride into the city, breakfast is great. I really enjoyed it, but if your not going for FC Porto. Maybe you might wanna go closer to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GQPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC Porto H, Customer Care Service at AC Hotel Porto, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Allen F.,

I am very glad to hear that you have spent a nice time at AC Hotel Porto by Marriott and that you enjoyed our services and the way that our staff made you feel during your stay.
Actually our location is privilege in close proximity to the stadium, and through the metro station it’s a 10min ride to the city centre.

I would also like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. Usually we let our guests check-in as soon as possible, but depending on the occupancy, sometimes it may not be achievable.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and I truly hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Best Regards,
Catarina Azevedo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Big and very modern hotel.Location is good , next to a shopping mall and the stadium.The rooms are very nice and big. Breakfast was great .Quatity of service was over expectation.We got this hotel as part o a tour with Europamundo and we stayed only one night but we enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivia147323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Located not very far from porto center, a great place for your week of business travel. The peice is not too high and the quality of the rooms is pretty good! Spacious and very clean. In terms of food, there is the big plus - breakfast! And the low minus - every other food. Dont order any room service, from my experience, it will get to your room already cold and the price is a little bit steep considering. One other thing a dont really like is the elevators. If you have you room on the upper floors, by morning it will be a real pain. All things considered, its a really good choice. And dont forget that although the AC became a brand by Marriott, the standards are beginning to look a lot alike.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goncalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We found a super offer and spent 1 night there, went to the restaurant, had breakfast and all was really affordable with excellent service and quality. On top it's very close to the metro - very convinient to go downtown and to the airport. Around the corner, there is a shopping mall, and in front the stadium.
We really enjoyed the stay and would recommend to friends!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarAle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in the AC Marriot Hotel in Porto for 2 nights (28/29 Oct 13). The hotel is huge, modern and stylish. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade, but I guess the overal condition of the rooms are all more than sufficient. Very friendly personnel, the only minus was the fact that we had to wait 20 minutes for breakfast on the day of our departure. The dining hal didn't open at 0700hr as promised, but only at 0720hr. Very close to the modern footballstadium of FC Porto, but a little bit out of the city center unfortunately. Still recommendable, very good price for the accomodation offfered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#15 of 109 in Porto
672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
3.2 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 109 in Porto
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
2.4 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#48 of 109 in Porto
807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Porto
Vila Gale Porto
#40 of 109 in Porto
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Porto

Property: AC Hotel Porto
Address: Rua Jaime Brasil 40, Porto 4350-009, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Porto
#20 Business Hotel in Porto
#31 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AC Hotel Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing