We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2009

This hotel is excellent value for money, providing modern, stylish, no smoking accommodation, in a nice safe neighbourhood, close to Porto's centre.

Rooms are recently re-done to a simple, modern theme, with wooden floors and pale colours. Three layers of curtain effectively block all sunlight. Beds are extremely comfortable. Showers are hot and powerful. Everything is spotlessly clean.

The rear rooms look out onto back gardens and are very peaceful.
Staff are very friendly and eager to please.
Free use of PC in the lobby.
Easy access from the airport by bus 601.

Some minor niggles:
The breakfast offers a good selection; but if not included in your room rate, the cost of €12 p.p. is very steep, given that eating out is so cheap in Porto. So, unless you really intend to fill up for the whole day, you might be better going down the street for a coffee and croissant.
The hotel restaurant currently only opens for breakfast (but there are plenty of eateries in the vicinity); room service menu is a bit limited.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by this "hidden jem" of a hotel. Tucked away on a small residential street, you practically miss finding the hotel. Once you arrive, the old, unassuming facade does not hint to the modern interior. This building was fully gutted and fitted with the most modern style furnishings and equipment. The rooms are a little on the small side, but the furnishings are very nice. The hotel staff is very attentive and helpful on your sightseeing plans. The hotel is located fairly close to the public transportation and near the university area, meaning lots of good, low priced restaurants near by. Private, gated parking is available for a small daily fee.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I will say that I certainly expected more. My wife and I stayed here for three days and I just didn't get it. The rooms were quite Spartan. Don't get me wrong, my home is modern and minimalist but this just seemed cheap. The breakfast was ho-hum. There is a great cafe next door so don't waste the money on the B&B option. We had to have several things fixed in our room but the staff was happy to comply. The front desk staff was hit-or-miss. Some were very cool and others were icy and stand-offish. The location is not great either. I would not stay here again considering the multitude of decent options.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel. Not only did everyone we talked to speak English (and several other languages) beautifully and have great knowledge of the area they provided recommendations, little extras and help when we needed it most.

I got very sick while in Porto and had to be hospitalized for a week. The staff at Eurostars Das Artes was amazing. Not only did they show care and concern for me, they were so very kind to my boyfriend that was stuck walking between the hotel and the hospital.

They truly showed the real spirit of the Portuguese people - kind and friendly. I would go to any of their properties in a heartbeat based on the wonderful treatment. Thank you especially to Pedro, Director of the property. You have our gratitude!

Specific to the hotel:
- Comfy bed and linens
- Very yummy breakfast with delicious fresh squeezed orange juice, wide selection of pastries (try the chocolate mini croissants!), yogurt, deli meat, breads, and more.
- Nice patio for drinks in the evening
- Modern decor, including dark stained hard wood floors in room (spacious room!)
- In room safe
- Nice TV with lots of English channels
- Great location (metro I think was about 15 min walk, mini-mart about 2 min which is great for grabbing a ,40Euro 1.5 liter of water)
- Free computer in lobby with Internet access, however, WiFi available only in lobby not in room
- Casual diner next door is a great choice for a quick and savory meal
- City dwellers might be surprised to hear rooster crow in the morning!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueyedtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights and got a very good deal of about 50 euros a night for the room from Expedia-it was advertised in the hotel as 300 euros per night.Everything in the hotel is brand new, clean and spacious. Very efficient and professional staff. The local area is OK- an interesting 15 mins into town by foot. Nice little cafe on the corner-left as you turn out of the hotel. We didn`t try the hotel breakfast as it was not included in our price, but the breakfast room downstairs looked very glamorous and excellent cooking smells came out of it! Free internet available too, in the foyer.
We had an excellent time and would stay here again for the price we paid!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

It was not easy to find, because of all the one way streets, but finally we found it on an unpretentious street. The hotel is very tasteful and contemporary. Nice rooms, very clean and helpful staff. Parking is available for a small price in their garage. The front desk recommended a great place for lunch, dinner and late night drinks. We paid 89 euros for one night. This included breakfast, champagne, and fruit. This was the romantic package. The breakfast was elaborate, the champagne not very good, and the fruit was okay. All in all, a great hotel for a very good price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisou4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Nice hotel. Had two rooms in the old building, one at front and the other at the back. Extremely comfortable, quiet and clean rooms, although refurbishment has left the rooms and corridors rather characterless. Excellent front desk staff. Didn't eat at hotel, but there is a great budget eating place almost next door from which you can get a wonderful breakfast for much less than at the hotel. The hotel deserves the good reviews it has received, but it is a bit removed from the main sights, and is not particularly near any of the metro stops. You can walk to the heart of the old town and back, but doing this 2 or 3 times a day can get a bit tiring.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 111 in Porto
1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#19 of 111 in Porto
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $60 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing