We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small & beautiful”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

It was a nice refuge from the late night streets of Porto, when I finally found my little hotel. Well appointed with all facilities needed for a short stay. The reception staff very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast basic but was there to start the day.

Room Tip: Rather small rooms, avoid the once on the top of the building. Might get pretty warm in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    665
    125
    27
    10
See reviews for
216
698
60
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Eurostars Das Artes. We were able to walk down into the city center (definitely a haul coming back uphill) and thought it was a good value. Staff were friendly and helpful, too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbell722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms was very nice and comfortable. It was very quiet. The location of the hotel was perfect giving access to nice neighbourhoods off the touristic circuits which is nice after full days of touring. The breakfast was very good and offered a lot a different choices. Would go back anytime!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabelle-L70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay then I can't say anything bad about the Eurostars Das Artes. The rooms were spotless but nothing fancy and there are no extra amenities you might expect for a 4 star hotel. The TV didn't work properly but we didn't really use it. The breakfast, which was included, is excellent. Front desk staff were ok - I wish they had told us more about the area when we arrived because the hotel wasn't in a bad location but you wouldn't know that from the street it is on. The first couple days we spent moeny on taxis which we didn't need to because we could have walked into the historical centre. The food in the lobby bar was terrible, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our family of five spent two nights in two rooms at this hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff members were helpful and very hard working (we saw the same man working late at night in the bar and then again bright and early the next morning at breakfast). We enjoyed the complimentary juice cocktail for booking online. The location seemed a little dicey at first but once we got used to the city we found it quite nice and convenient. We arrived on the metro and found the walk there a bit long, The directions on the website are not very clear and we were at the mercy of a nice elderly man who gave us directions (me speaking Spanish and him speaking Portuguese...) The breakfast buffet was also quite good value and we found enough for everyone to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

There's no doubts, it is a very good hotel, with a friendly staff and good rooms. Don't wait for luxuries or big surprises, there's only a clean hotel, with a very good location (arts street), and with everything you need. I was very surprised. There's only one thing, I stayed for two nights and after my first night, I left in the floor before cleaning, my sheets because for an accident it was dirty in a small part of it. For my surprise, they used the same sheets for the second night (once again, they were in the floor!!!), and it's not a very smart attitude of housekeeping. A part of this, congratulations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andre_m_torre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This propety is an excellent value for money. Although located just a short walk to the city center I found it quite nice. Nothing special but still interesting. The main building is a traditional portuguese house which was once a school.
The staff was helpful and frendly.
Check in/out was quick and efficient. My room was on the top floor which made it less covenient due to inclinated walls. That was ok but difficult to get closer to the wash basin . I learnt each room had different layout so probably this was the case for this specific room.
The bed was very hard but comfortable to sleep in, the tv had a good choice of channels.
Wifi was fee and breakfast was included in my rate. A regular price was 12€ which is a lot, considering basic choices offered.
The common areas looked a little tired and the bar area boring.
But considering the price, I cannot complain. The hotel needs some minor repairs (holes in the wall, broken window shades, stains on the hallway carpet.)
I was offered a welcome drink on arrival and a small detail in my room which was a nice surprise.
I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for those wanting to explore the traditional parts of Porto and on a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 106 in Porto
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#13 of 106 in Porto
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#26 of 106 in Porto
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Property: Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing