We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our family of five spent two nights in two rooms at this hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff members were helpful and very hard working (we saw the same man working late at night in the bar and then again bright and early the next morning at breakfast). We enjoyed the complimentary juice cocktail for booking online. The location seemed a little dicey at first but once we got used to the city we found it quite nice and convenient. We arrived on the metro and found the walk there a bit long, The directions on the website are not very clear and we were at the mercy of a nice elderly man who gave us directions (me speaking Spanish and him speaking Portuguese...) The breakfast buffet was also quite good value and we found enough for everyone to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

There's no doubts, it is a very good hotel, with a friendly staff and good rooms. Don't wait for luxuries or big surprises, there's only a clean hotel, with a very good location (arts street), and with everything you need. I was very surprised. There's only one thing, I stayed for two nights and after my first night, I left in the floor before cleaning, my sheets because for an accident it was dirty in a small part of it. For my surprise, they used the same sheets for the second night (once again, they were in the floor!!!), and it's not a very smart attitude of housekeeping. A part of this, congratulations!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andre_m_torre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This propety is an excellent value for money. Although located just a short walk to the city center I found it quite nice. Nothing special but still interesting. The main building is a traditional portuguese house which was once a school.
The staff was helpful and frendly.
Check in/out was quick and efficient. My room was on the top floor which made it less covenient due to inclinated walls. That was ok but difficult to get closer to the wash basin . I learnt each room had different layout so probably this was the case for this specific room.
The bed was very hard but comfortable to sleep in, the tv had a good choice of channels.
Wifi was fee and breakfast was included in my rate. A regular price was 12€ which is a lot, considering basic choices offered.
The common areas looked a little tired and the bar area boring.
But considering the price, I cannot complain. The hotel needs some minor repairs (holes in the wall, broken window shades, stains on the hallway carpet.)
I was offered a welcome drink on arrival and a small detail in my room which was a nice surprise.
I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for those wanting to explore the traditional parts of Porto and on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Okay, there is some walk to activities of Porto, but nothing that you could not do if you value city holidays overall. The hotel is perfect choice if you're looking nice, comfortable and feasible stay for few nights. The rooms and beds were nice and the breakfast was excellent... my special distinction goes to fresh orange juice :-)

Totally worth of every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a week in Europe in their small rooms, tiny lifts and terrible beds (including two twins sandwiched together as a "Queen"), I was so surprised to find a legitimate King sized bed with excellent sheets, and a firm mattress. That alone made the hotel worth it. Even better was the breakfast breads and cereals catering to both European, and foreign diets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwparkphd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel, the only reason I gave 4 not 5 stars is because from time to time a strong smell of cigarettes came into the room through the air-conditioning. One night it was so strong it was as if someone had been chain-smoking in the room!

The staff were efficient but also very friendly and helpful.

The room (standard twin) and bathroom were large, modern and very nice - though if you have a problem with roosters crowing in the morning, I suggest you take earplugs, how very Portuguese!

The public areas of the hotel are modern and very stylish, the parking is underneath the building and couldn't be easier.

It is located about a (brisk) 10 minute walk from the Riberia district and is 5 minutes from great restaurants (Nicola and Camafeu), shops, etc. There is a laundry when you turn left out of the hotel and then first street on the left, a bit of the way down. This is incidentally also the way to the shops and restaurants, and Cafe Decomur on the corner of Rua do Rosario and that street is EXCELLENT (much better than the one directly across from the hotel). There is also a great little fruit shop near the laundry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

While the hotel is located a bit of a distance from the center of Porto, it was in a quiet area which allowed for restful sleep after a busy day of sightseeing. Walking to activities took maybe 10 or 15 minutes, and I felt very safe in walking through the streets in the area. The street where the hotel is located doesn't look so terrific, but don't be put off by any of that. The area is SAFE and once you enter the hotel lobby you are greeted by modern surroundings. My room was very nice. Even though I had booked a "single" room, I had a double bed and a window overlooking the neighborhood. The bathroom was quite large, and I really enjoyed the speakers which were in there so I could listen to the TV news while I was getting ready. I normally don't order room service but one morning I was tired and wanted to eat and rest at the same time. The breakfast was delivered on time and was just what I ordered. That was a nice surprise. The coffee wasn't so great but I found that type of coffee was typical in Portugal. The staff was MOST helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. I also thought the room rate was very reasonable. The room was very clean and appeared to be new. I also appreciated having air conditioning!!!! A hair dryer was also in the room. All in all my stay was most pleasant and I would stay there again should my travels take me to Porto again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,161 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#18 of 111 in Porto
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $67 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing