We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely nice but a bit far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Extremely nice but a bit far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This must of been the most beautiful hotel we stayed at in our entire three-week European honeymoon. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was beautiful, with free easy-access wifi in the room. The front desk is full of amazing people that listened to my Portuglish and helped us navigate the city every chance they could. My only complaint about this beautiful four-star hotel is that it was a bit far from Praça da Batalha and the Douro riverside, which are THE places to go in Porto. It did allow us to see a different side of Porto that wasn't so touristy, but it was a 7€ cab ride to get anywhere you'd really want to see. We didn't eat the breakfast, though it looked lovely. There are too many pastelerias in town with yummy coffee and fresh Portuguese pastries for under 4€ a person. Get a "galão" coffee and any pastry in the case and you won't go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firecracker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    653
    123
    25
    8
See reviews for
212
682
59
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is in the gallery district of Porto, about a 10-15 minute walk from the start of the major sites and the riverfront. My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. We are in our early 30s, but were the youngest guests here, perhaps by an average of 15-20 years. You are, however, very close to the 'bars' district and can pop out for a more lively scene at night. Below is an assessment of the hotel's pros and cons.

PROS:
1. Good size, clean room with well-appointed fixtures.
2. Promptly provided with a hair dryer when the attached hairdryer in the room broke.
3. Beautiful garden/sitting area.
4. Nice, well-appointed foyer.
5. Great housekeeping service that respects your 'do not disturb' sign.
6. Very reasonably priced wines on the in-house menu.

CONS:
1. Mattress is decent but not of the best quality.
2. No shampoo provided in the room (only bath gel).
3. If you get a room facing the back of the hotel, you will hear the roosters starting around 04:00.
4. The concierge service needs improvement; there is no dedicated concierge, and the knowledge of the front desk staff is hit or miss depending on who you ask. There are brochures available on certain activities, but for many things you need the local knowledge of the concierge.
5. Only one front desk staffer working at prime check-out time leads to long queues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vandyalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Beautiful room, great staff and we loved the area. Clean, quiet and aestheitc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We recently stayed in the Eurostars Das Artes for 4 days.
The hotel is in a quiet area not far from the center of town. I loved the atmosphere and shops around the hotel - loads of original galleries and little cafes.

The hotel itself is was nice and comfortable and the staff very friendly.

The only negative points were the lack of tea and coffee making facitilties in the bedroom and the quality and organisation around the breakfast.
The breakfast was a buffet which looked at first like there was plenty of choice. But the bread and fruit were very' industrial' and without much taste. If you were looking for breakfast cerals the only ones available were loaded with sugar - even the museli. Strangely enough, there was a large selection of 'diet biscuits'.
Personally I prefer breakfast in a hotel which offers little less choice, but better quality ingredients sourced locally and I'd recommend Eurostars to review their menu.
We only ate one breakfast there as it was really not worth the 12 euros.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spring123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for a meeting. 10 minutes walk from metro station. Hotel does not look that big from outside but once you get in it is spacious and very clean. Room was clean and spacious. It would have been better if coffee making facilities were available. Had food in the bar which was good value. Buffet breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Walkable distance to city centre attractions.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Eurostars Das Artes is in a quiet location about 15 minutes from the centre of Porto Old Town. It is clean and comfortable. Our room on the 1st floor in the newer building was a good size with a large bathroom. The beds were a little hard for my taste but nevertheless comfortable. The views from the rooms are not particularly good but it was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they booked the restaurants for each of our 3 nights - and the breakfast was excellent with cooked choices, fresh pastries, cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yoghurt and more. It was a little out of the centre but wherever you stay in Porto you should be prepared for walking up and down steep hills. This is part of the charm and if you manage some of the climbs you will be rewarded by wonderful views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmerelda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My partner and I traveled here for a weekend break to the city. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff were friendly. The rooms themselves are quite spacious with the bathroom featuring large baths and amazing power showers! We stayed on the top floor facing over the back of the hotel. The view was lovely looking over the city.

Location wise, again I could not fault this hotel, we took the metro from the Airport to Lapa station with a 10 minute walk to the hotel. Also to reach the old part of the city it only took a 20 min stroll to get there.

The room has a safety deposit box, minibar and English language TV channels - Breakfast is also available.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and considering the room was purchased for about £60 per night, I think it was reasonably priced for the location and the rooms themselves!

I would stay here again when visiting Porto for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glg2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#11 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Property: Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing