We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well kept, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very well kept, quiet hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Eurostars Das Artes is in a quiet location about 15 minutes from the centre of Porto Old Town. It is clean and comfortable. Our room on the 1st floor in the newer building was a good size with a large bathroom. The beds were a little hard for my taste but nevertheless comfortable. The views from the rooms are not particularly good but it was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they booked the restaurants for each of our 3 nights - and the breakfast was excellent with cooked choices, fresh pastries, cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yoghurt and more. It was a little out of the centre but wherever you stay in Porto you should be prepared for walking up and down steep hills. This is part of the charm and if you manage some of the climbs you will be rewarded by wonderful views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmerelda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    665
    125
    27
    10
See reviews for
216
698
60
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My partner and I traveled here for a weekend break to the city. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff were friendly. The rooms themselves are quite spacious with the bathroom featuring large baths and amazing power showers! We stayed on the top floor facing over the back of the hotel. The view was lovely looking over the city.

Location wise, again I could not fault this hotel, we took the metro from the Airport to Lapa station with a 10 minute walk to the hotel. Also to reach the old part of the city it only took a 20 min stroll to get there.

The room has a safety deposit box, minibar and English language TV channels - Breakfast is also available.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and considering the room was purchased for about £60 per night, I think it was reasonably priced for the location and the rooms themselves!

I would stay here again when visiting Porto for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glg2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Das Artes is a cozy hotel just a 20 mins walk from most of the Oporto sights. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Our one was also very quiet. The bathroom was big but could get very wet after a shower.
I really appreciated the in room free Wifi. Stuff was helpful and polite even though often there was only one receptionist struggling in the crowded hours. Great breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very clean, smart and elegant hotel. Everything you would expect of a 4 star hotel. The room was comfortable and pleasant, the location of the hotel is pretty good too. No complaints. Staff were helpful and friendly. Just a one night stay but I would come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The description of this hotel suggests it is is a chic arty area...you may interpret that differently when you get there! It is in easy walking distance to main sights, (quite an uphill walk on the way back), staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome. Breakfast is lovely-lots of fresh fruit, pastries and usual cold meats and cheese, cereals etc. Rooms are very basic, but spotlessly clean. I would have no problems going back there, but if I were to return to Porto, I would choose a hotel closer to the riverside. This is where all the activity is and is a better starting point to explore both sides of the city. Would recommend a trip to the port wine cellars-great value at 4 euros with wine tasting-very interesting!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Eurostars Das Artes 4 great days. The room was spacious, quite and clean.
we could'nt ask for more. And there was also a nice view to the city roofs. Breakfast was excellent with variety of food. Free wifi in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors (3rd and 4th) are quiet and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It was clean and well run.
Close to the centre too. We like walking so we walked everywhere.
Porto is hilly but it is fun to enjoy the city by walking round it. However, the metro system is excellent and connects the airports and other nice areas around the city.

Courteous staff at the hotel.
Wifi connection at the hotel worked and was good.
No complaints at all.

Breakfast was good too.
I will recommend this hotel to couples, singles, as well as families with children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deep_Blue_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 106 in Porto
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#13 of 106 in Porto
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#26 of 106 in Porto
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Artes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Artes Hotel

Property: Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Address: Rua do Rosario, 160 - 164, Porto 4050-521, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Business Hotel in Porto
#20 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Das Artes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people who love art. For people who appreciate port wine and know how to enjoy it with the necessary calm. For these people we have opened the Eurostars Das Artes. The Eurostars Das Artes has a total of 89 modern, spacious rooms, equipped with high-speed Wi-Fi connections, writing desk, air conditioning, mini-bar and satellite TV. The hotel also has 4 single rooms and 3 junior suites with king-size beds and generous extra space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Artes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Artes Porto
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing