We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel away from city center”
Review of Hotel Douro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Douro
Ranked #80 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed March 4, 2013

- parking garage available (although in fact one can park for free on side street)
- easy to find and to reach when travelling by car. City center is easily reachable by bus or metro
- clean and well-furnished room
- fairly good breakfast
- wifi in the room
- printer available at the lobby
- quiet place
- excellent sleeping conditions
- helpful staff

- walk to the metro station turned out to be longer than we expected. Still it's about 10 mins and the location seems rather safe.
- shower cabin needs a bit of refurbishing

Room Tip: Although we have decided to use a garage, it's possible to park a car for free in the nearby str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Kiev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

Clean and spacious rooms, good location (just few minutes walking from Casa da Música) and friendly service.

The breakfast is not great but has all the essentials.

If you have a car it has plenty of parking spots around the hotel (specially after office hours) so paying 6Eur a day for the park is in my opinion not needed.

I booked through booking.com and ended up saving some money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xofinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My stay was for 5 nights. The room was large and airy and the bathroom was very spacious. The bed very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious and well-stocked. The reception staff were always very polite and courteous and multi-lingual. If you want to use the internet it was 3 euros an hour I think. I would definitely return again

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

I spent a week-end there.

Pros
- Modern recent building, with everything shiny and working
- tasteful room
- great breakfast, with view on a small patio
- friendly staff

Cons
- mattress extremely hard, preventing me from sleeping well
- despite double glazing, you can hear traffick when facing the street
- cosmetics in bathroom not really 4 stars, no handkerchiefs
- due to the slightly excentred situation, cab needed to get back, but easy to find and very cheap

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex_of_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lisboa
17
Reviewed August 27, 2005

We spent two nights in this quiet, brand new, very well decorated hotel. The room has plenty of space and the bed is very confortable. It's quite central and has free parking. The prices are OK if the reservation is made on-line

Stayed: August 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
420
Reviewed August 10, 2005

Yes, the hotel just opened. But service is wonderful, as is the decor, as is the free parking. The rooms are beautiful, the furniture is modern, the buffet breakfast is first-rate, the location is convenient (20min walk to the riverfront, 10min to old town, 30min to Nova Gaia), and the price (at least for now) is incredible. There is a fine late night internet place located one block away.

Stayed: July 2005
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rafael Eugenio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Boavista Class Inn
Boavista Class Inn
#88 of 111 in Porto
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#36 of 111 in Porto
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#35 of 111 in Porto
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#68 of 111 in Porto
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#47 of 111 in Porto
432 reviews
2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#15 of 111 in Porto
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Douro

Address: Rua Meditacao 71 | Porto, Porto 4150-487, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $79 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Douro 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPORTO invites you…to live the experience of an evolution city distinguished by European Consumers Choice as “Best European Destiny 2012".Oporto conquers all its visitors, from those who search history and authenticity, to those who look to explore a new city, more cosmopolitan and contemporary.The Oporto Wine, the historical center World Heritage, museums, fashion stores of national and international designers are other attractions of the best european ‘city trip’ of the year.HOTEL DOURO welcomes you…turning your experience more comfortable and cozy.The experience of walking into Hotel Douro is like coming home. We know your name, your preferences, just like home, and at anytime our staff is available to help you.Get the perfect location staying 5 minutes away from the Oporto’s historical center as well as from the beaches. All transports available at one step from metro to public or touristic buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Douro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing