We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Palacio de Cristal
from $22.96
More Info
from $34.44
More Info
from $33.29
More Info
from $516.64
More Info
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveler rating
550
562
378
140
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
562
378
140
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal palace nice park the river book fair surrounding gardens full bloom sunny day different levels nice walk dome palacio ducks mota douro trees rosa maze
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

This place was just 15 minutes walk from the hotel and it was a nice day so I decided to visit. The park is beautiful and has peacocks wandering around which are totally unfazed by people! The views of the fountains and gardens are beautiful and there's also great views of the river too.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Anonymous151991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015

It looks awesome from Torre dos Clerigos, but Its just OK for me. Although the grass and park itself need a lot of maintenance, its still pretty and there are lots of gorgeous peacocks walking around. You also get some nice places to take pictures from.
I went there because it looks very prominent from Torre dos clerigos (go there first), and wereas it is nice to go there, I would suggest that if you are low on time you can skip it because its actually a bit of a walk from the more touristic area.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank jaime_seis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

The Palacio building is very bad, the only thing worth visiting it is its gardens , where you have a beautiful view on the river Douro

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank carolinelily451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2015

Was disappointed to find that the Crystal Palace was actually a big green dome of a sports centre, but what a treat the gardens were! Multi-layered and very peaceful, the park is used and accessible by all. Running, jogging, children playing, peace, tranquility and peacocks!
Families, couples, people seeking enlightenment - everyone seemed to find some space to be comfortable in.
I thought the planting was lovely and I particularly liked the water features and the sounds of bamboo in the breeze and water trickling at different levels. Yes, it could do with a little more funding and upkeep, but I thought the whole place felt very natural and calming.
Beautiful view of the bridge across the Douro too.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank BluesNites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2015

We wanted to see this UFO-like structure only to find that it's a 'abandoned' place where it's impossible to get in. The view from that park is quite nice. however, it's not easy to access it and we have to walk quite a lot. not really worth the time in my opinion.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Clement K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews