We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“helpful staff, good location, modern comfortable room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Porto Centro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“helpful staff, good location, modern comfortable room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Excellent modern 3 star hotel - well located - quiet but only 5 minutes walk to metro and 20 minutes to city centre. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Room was attractive, bright and spacious with good lighting and very comfortable large bed and pillows, as comfortable as the 4 star hotels we had used. Unlike every other hotel we stayed in, it provided two armchairs, not just one. It also provided an occasional table, a desk and chair, and an electric kettle with tea and coffee making supplies. My only criticism relates to the breakfast - I had to ask for the scrambled eggs to be replenished every day and when they arrived they were badly cooked. Bacon was also badly cooked and not hot enough. The cold components of the breakfast were plentiful and quite good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbonliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    280
    136
    27
    18
See reviews for
85
264
29
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnaxide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Good accomodation and well located near the center. Good price for its quality.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

Very good hotel. Specialy if you are traveling with two children and want them to be in the same room as you, since the hotel room has a berth that it was perfect for us.
Friendly staff and the breakfast is also very good with a lot of variety.
Excelent value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTony1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is easy to go to center from the hotel down hill, but hard to come back, uphill.
Th room was minimal, clean and confortable. The breakfast menu was very nice, especially cheese were wonderful, like in all Portugal.
I recommend to take the hop-on-hop-of bus to travel the city, as this bus also passes through a street close to the Hotel.
The hotel staff were very helpful, reserving in a restaurant, advising places to go etc. and speaking good english.
The hotel is situated in a narrow street and our room view was not good, seeing an old and ruined building.
Overall, I recommend this hotel to travelers, not ecpecting too much, not going to spend time in the room a lot, just need a clean, confortable, warm and convenient hotel.
Nese

  • Liked — Confortable, helpful staff
  • Disliked — View, uphill, to come to hotel
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed at the Tryp Porto Hotel during October this year. We found it very comfortable and clean. The room was modern and well looked after by the maid. The staff were friendly and helpful even though we only knew a little Portuguese. Breakfast is a good selection of cereals,fruit, bread and cakes and most days there was scrambled eggs and cooked meats available.
If you have a hire car parking is limited to about 9 underground spaces which are accessed via a car lift so if you have a big car
you may find it a tricky manouever. If you dont hire a car get a Portocard from Tourist info ( 6 euros a day) which takes you on
Tram, Metro and Bus a real bargain.
Getting a meal in the evening means going into the City centre,
the hotel does not have a restaurant for the evenings. Beware its a steep climb back up! Alternatively there are a couple of basic cafes nearby where you get good honest food with no frills and are good value.
We enjoyed our stay at the Tryp and would stay again. It is just a pity about the location.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonObrigado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed here for the first night of a week touring the Douro and the Beiras.

We arrived 10:30pm and after the formalities of checking in were over we were ushered to a cafe 50 yards up the road who were willing to make us omelettes and generally fed and watered us well at that late hour which saved going downtown after a long day.

I had called ahead to book a car parking space at the hotel which was indeed reserved @ 8 euros a day, but we hadn't been told that it was accessed by a car lift taking you down to to an underground carpark.

Beware !!! - a VW Sharan only just fits in the lift with literally mm's to spare with wing mirrors turned in which made manoevering it tricky.

Good efficient hotel - no complaints and very accomodating and a great price. We would return - perhaps with a smaller car !!

  • Liked — Sparkling, efficient, value
  • Disliked — Tricky car park lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is our third time staying the Porto Centro in three years, so that must say something about the place.
We prefer the out of town location as taxis are reasonably priced and it is only a 5-10 min walk to the main shopping area, though it is all uphill on the way back!
The rooms are spacious and clean, there is plenty of choice of food at breakfast.
The only slight niggle with our stay this time was that the plug got stuck in the sink and the mini-bar fridge leaked (not that we use it but there was water dripping out the door). We advised reception and before we had finished explaining they said they would sort it out, so they obivously knew about the problems. It was just a shame that if they knew about them, why didnt they leave a note in the room explaining so we knew not to be concerned about the fridge or use the plug?
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful.
Would recommend buying a ticket for the open top bus tour as it is 10 euros for 24hrs and you can go on all three trips they run.
We have also caught the train to Braga and Guimeras, which are worth a visit if you have time. The train is very cheap and it is easy to buy tickets, though you must take a numbered ticket from the machine before you go into the ticket office else you won't get served!
We will stay at Porto Centro the next time we go to Porto.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#41 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#32 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#46 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Porto Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Porto Centro Hotel

Property: Tryp Porto Centro Hotel
Address: Rua da Alegria 685-689, Porto 4000-046, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Porto Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city centre of Porto, which is considered part of the World Heritage of UNESCO. It is near the Santa Catarina Street and the heart of Oporto, which is a traditional place for shopping, as well as for visiting the principal monuments of the city. The hotel has 62 rooms, all equipped with satellite TV, telephone, high-speed internet, minibar, air-conditioning, safety box and hairdryer. The hotel also offers 3 meeting rooms. Nearest metro station Marques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tryp Porto Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel Porto
Sol Melia Porto Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing