We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply avarege”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good rooms and cheap prices.
Walkable diastance from centre but duable.
Main issue was the car park advertised on the website but always full in the days I was there.
When I have asked to be informed about possible free parking space following clients' checks out, reception guys were not helpful.
A cristiano Ronaldo feeling like guy with earing gave me also attitude.
...I was the client.
In this case cheap price, cheap service

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Franchinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sir, We appreciate the time spent for your comment and inform you that due to hotel being full, our garage didn't have space. Our reception staf is normally very helpfull to our guests, we are checking what could have been wrong with the attitude you mention.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive a subsequent occasion and provide a stay according to your expectation,
Greetings

Pedro Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 624 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's a fairly long walk up and down the hilly streets of Porto to the center, but I like walking. The service in the hotel was good, and the room/bed were a good standard. The free wifi doesn't really work in the room, but if you go down to the lobby, it works.

Ordering coffee in the mornings was a bit of an adventure to make myself understood. I think the staff are trained in English up to a point, but they have their limitations. Still, very nice people.

We didn't have breakfast included in our price, which was very reasonable. I did, however, go into the breakfast room to check out the buffet. It looked acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sir, I hereby thank your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. It is with great satisfaction that we see our work be rewarded with reviews like yours. We inform that internet problems in the rooms are solved. The wifi net is working in all áreas.
We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto,
Greetings

Pedro Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Traveling to Porto with my family, my wife booked at least one month in advance, two rooms for us, a double and a triple.
Two weeks before going to Porto, I phoned to confirm the reservation.
The day before, I phoned again, to confirm again, and asked about a car park place.
All was OK.
The day we booked for, we finally arrived at Tryp Porto Centro.
No rooms available for my family!
Sorry, we are overbooked, but we found you an alternate hotel, far away from the area we wanted to stay at.
I tried to understand what happened, but no one could find an answer.
The fact of making re-confirmation phone calls is no use.
Our places where taken last minute, and here we are, offered to go elsewhere, in a distant hotel from Porto sites we wanted to visit in our 12 hours stay in Porto.
So, beware of that hotel, if you don't want to have bad surprises.
Porto is full of nice, central hotels, for sure more trustful then this one.
Tryp Porto Centro, an experience, in years and years of travel, that never happen to me, with all double and triple checks of the reservation.
No use in doing so.
You know what can happen to you in booking this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Joao59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Senhor(a), Agradecemos o tempo despendido para o seu comentário. De facto o hotel TRYP Porto Centro estava com uma situação de overbooking, o que lamentamos. Oferecemos várias hipóteses de alojamento, e reservamos onde o cliente desejou dentro das opções que havia.
Esperamos ter a oportunidade de o receber numa próxima ocasião e proporcionar uma estadia de acordo com a sua expectativa,
Cumprimentos

Pedro Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Staff were all professional, helpful and had good English. Room was generous size and clean. No in-room amenities (minibar, safe, tea/coffee). My room had no view and only one window, but some rooms have balconies. Air conditioning appeared to work however did not cool the room down. There are smoking floors in this hotel so be careful to specify if you want a non-smoking room. Good WiFi. Small bar behind reception, not much of a drink selection, but at least can get a beer after walking back from the city. Only used the dinning room for breakfast, and breakfast was excellent with full range of choices including cooked eggs etc. There is a good restaurant 20 meters across the street. Everything else is downhill - fine if you are fit, enjoy walking, and its not raining.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sir, I hereby thank your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. We emphasize that the rooms have a safe and minibar. Sorry we have not seen. It is with satisfaction that we see our work be rewarded with reviews like yours.
We'll be waiting for a next visit to Porto
Greetings

Pedro Salazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As part of an Archers tour, we stayed at the Tryp Hotel for 1 night both before and after our tour of Galicia. The reception & restaurant staff were friendly, helpful & spoke good English. Sadly we don't speak any Portuguese.
The rooms were clean & a good size. The view from the window wasn't special but that was irrelevant for 1 night. More important was the food – we had breakfast (buffet) & dinner on both occasions. The food was fine.

The small convenience shop just opposite was useful for bottles of water or even wine! The free Wifi access was limited to the reception area but there are seats available there.

On both occasions, we had plenty of time to walk from the hotel, DOWN quite a steep hill to the Rua Santa Catarina then a lesser slope into the centre of Oporto. Walking back up was more of a strain but a taxi would have been another option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear lady,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. It is with great satisfaction that we see our work being rewarded with reviews like yours.


We'll be waiting for your visit and hoping that for the next time we speak a little of portuguese at check-in
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in a quite run-down but is smart and clean. We were with a large party and were all accommodated well. We requested a change of room due to traffic noise and were able to move for our second day onwards. When my husband said he would fetch the key they kindly brought it up. The receptionist was pleasant and smiling at all times. The breakfast selection was good although some things ran out. Overall, though, our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossstitchgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp C, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Hotel Tryp Porto Centro. It is with great satisfaction that we see our work being rewarded with reviews like yours.

We'll be waiting for you in your next visit to Porto,
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#25 of 109 in Porto
1,946 reviews
1.9 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#49 of 109 in Porto
859 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 109 in Porto
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
1.9 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#20 of 109 in Porto
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Porto Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Porto Centro Hotel

Address: Rua da Alegria 685-689, Porto 4000-046, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $58 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Porto Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city centre of Porto, which is considered part of the World Heritage of UNESCO. It is near the Santa Catarina Street and the heart of Oporto, which is a traditional place for shopping, as well as for visiting the principal monuments of the city. The hotel has 62 rooms, all equipped with satellite TV, telephone, high-speed internet, minibar, air-conditioning, safety box and hairdryer. The hotel also offers 3 meeting rooms. Nearest metro station Marques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP Porto Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel Porto
Sol Melia Porto Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing