We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay. Uphill walk home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
Ranked #49 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay. Uphill walk home!”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is very nice. Our room was a decent size with a comfy bed and a nice bathroom. The breakfast was great. Lots to choose from. The wi-fi only worked in the reception but was free (access codes provided on request). The staff were friendly and the hotel was a great base for exploring. The only downside is the uphill walk home. But a gentle stroll out and a taxi home (not expensive) was a great compromise.
Can I reccomend a few things to do whilst in porto...
The taylors port house was excellent. A free tasting and tour was well worth the steep climb to get to it. The house sits in a beautiful garden. We sipped our free port with a friendly peacock!! Then after the half hr tour, you can sit on their balcony admiring great views of the city.
The vino logia bar on rua de sao Joao. A fab little bar that does various port tastings. We sat for an hr and paid 20 euros to taste 6 kinds. The barman was very knowledgeable and the bar is very quaint. Well worth a visit.
The majestic cafe on the rua de Santa Catarina. Beautiful place. We had strawberries and port one afternoon. You can sit in the gorgeous indoors or outside on the terrace to the rear or the street at the front.
The red open top tour bus. A ticket for 2 days was 18 euros. This included a 50 min boat trip to see the 6 Porto bridges. The tour has 2 routes. One around the old city and one that goes to the beach. We did one each day, hopping on and off. The boat tour was lovely, especially as there was a bar so we could enjoy a port whilst sitting on the deck!! Please be mindful that the 2 day ticket wasn't time stamped (as most other tickets in other cities are). Get your ticket early on the 1st day to ensure you get 2 full days. But well worth it. A bargain for a full 2 days sightseeing and a boat trip to boot. The ticket also includes 2 free tastings at port houses. We didn't go to these because we wanted to go to taylors but this is also free.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelcat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTPC, General Manager at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    288
    142
    29
    18
See reviews for
92
269
31
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a great time staying at the Tryp Porto Centro hotel at the beginning of June for three weekend days. The hotel is located just outside the main touristy downtown area, but close enough to walk pretty much everywhere you'd want to go. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, not at all noisy, and the staff was very helpful and courteous.

Vasco, who works at the front desk, helped us find places to go and things to see, as it was our first time in Porto. He also suggested a nearby restaurant (actually just across the street) which was AMAZING. We ate there twice!

Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecoast5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTPC, General Manager at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Tryp Porto Centro was a decent place to stay and not too far from the centre of the city.

The staff were well-presented, amiable and helpful when providing directions and information about the city.

My room was clean, well-decorated and offered reasonable value for money, and allowed me to have a good night's sleep.

The buffet breakfast offered plenty to choose from but used plates were not cleared very often. That could be improved but otherwise, no complaints at all. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The hotel was a little out of the centre but only took about 15 minutes to walk and the metro station was a 5 minute walk. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast had a very large selection of items available and was to a good standard. The room was small but provided us with everything that we needed for our two night stay. the only complaint that we had was the noise from the road was extremely loud and carried on into the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed for one night in July. The room had a window so small it was something like out of Alice in Wonderland. The bed was hard. Bathroom was clean but old. Staff were friendly and spoke English, but gave me wrong information on train lines and somehow managed to charge me twice, although later (much later) sorted it out.

Amongst the pros are the location and the breakfast. A short walk from Sao Bento, where I was traveling from. Breakfast started at something like 6 or 7 in the morning which was super convenient since my train left at 9. The choice was good and the food was awesome.

Wouldn't recommend for a lenghtier stay, if you've got the means to get something better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoeperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Excellent modern 3 star hotel - well located - quiet but only 5 minutes walk to metro and 20 minutes to city centre. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Room was attractive, bright and spacious with good lighting and very comfortable large bed and pillows, as comfortable as the 4 star hotels we had used. Unlike every other hotel we stayed in, it provided two armchairs, not just one. It also provided an occasional table, a desk and chair, and an electric kettle with tea and coffee making supplies. My only criticism relates to the breakfast - I had to ask for the scrambled eggs to be replenished every day and when they arrived they were badly cooked. Bacon was also badly cooked and not hot enough. The cold components of the breakfast were plentiful and quite good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbonliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnaxide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Good accomodation and well located near the center. Good price for its quality.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#44 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#40 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
1.9 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.9 mi away
Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Porto Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Porto Centro Hotel

Property: TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
Address: Rua da Alegria 685-689, Porto 4000-046, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Porto Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city centre of Porto, which is considered part of the World Heritage of UNESCO. It is near the Santa Catarina Street and the heart of Oporto, which is a traditional place for shopping, as well as for visiting the principal monuments of the city. The hotel has 62 rooms, all equipped with satellite TV, telephone, high-speed internet, minibar, air-conditioning, safety box and hairdryer. The hotel also offers 3 meeting rooms. Nearest metro station Marques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TRYP Porto Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel Porto
Sol Melia Porto Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing