We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad room condition, terrible experience with a rude receptionist” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Porto
ORADEA,ROMANIA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good location, bad room condition, terrible experience with a rude receptionist”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights due its location but really would want to think twice if I will ever want to stay here again.First, I was shocked at how rude, unhelpful and just plain nasty the brunette receptionist was{while everyone else I interacted with in the city was generally curteous, polite and friendly.}The front desk staff is definitely more responsive to a traveller who choose to stay more days inside an expensive room.Seemed to clearly be a cultural issue.This receptionist working after 3 P. M. was no interested to resolve my complains[problems with electric sockets,Tv].It was very difficult to charge my laptop, a phone and a camera using a single socket.They have wi-fi just in the area of the reception.Great! To stay with a laptop paying 1,5 euro for an hour next this nervous woman!
Don't expect nothing staying here in a cheap room.No day light, in front of my window was a grey wall.Old and smelling furniture, dirty blankets.The owner forgot the beautiful word "renovation".Walls of the rooms are very thin, don't forget to bring ear-plugs.There are a little heater in every room, difficult to understand how is possible to stay here in the middle of winter.
Breakfast was good, with natural orange juice and strong coffee.Very polite waiters.
The hotel with a splendide facade has a good location, very easy walking to the train station or the bus terminal. Splendid azulejos in the hall, but dark corridors.
They make you pay cash for entire stay up front and will not refund you if you want to leave the place early.

Room Tip: If you need internet there are two cyber cafe with decent prices, 0,60 euro for an hour.You can stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    109
    64
    32
    27
See reviews for
31
113
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel has a wonderfully, old-fashioned atmosphere. I liked the old-style furniture and the general feel of the place. It was central and within walking distance of much of the city.
Friendly staff and substantial breakfast. Porto is obviously going through hard times economically and this was evident in some of the buildings in the area of the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyjedburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

On arrival we were allocated a "Double Standard"room.A tiny very basic,spartan interior room with a small window opening out on to a light shaft and facing a wall.
The "bathroom",if it could be called that,consisted of a WC and shower plate.It was just possible to stand between the two and almost impossible to turn around.There was a washbasin in a corner of the bedroom outside of the "bathroom"The wall heated did not work in the bathroom and because it was cold in the evening we were not able to shower.There was a small double bed and a single wardrobe(old furnishings).We mentioned to the reception staff how small the room was for two people but were not changed that evening.According to them this room corresponded to the rate we had paid.It seemed to us that it was more a "single" than a "double"room.
The following morning we spoke again to reception who changed our room at once,(admitting that the previous room was very tiny)this time to a more spacious room.It was still a modest interior room but more like what we thought we had booked.
The breakfast was ok.The staff were friendly.The hostal is central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANACARLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel many times as it is close to the train station and near the water front (10 min. slow walking). The staff in the hotel are extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast, although no hot food but there is sufficient cold cheeses and meats with bread rolls and croissants. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in Porto

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was a great hotel in the center of town and within walking distance to everything. There is a breakfast in the morning, which has cereals, meats, rolls and sweet rolls. What was even more great is that there was soy milk, a nice surprise for my friend who is vegan! A nice breakfast to start your day exploring! The staff was super nice, even helping me find the bus station I needed for a day trip to Fatima. On two occasions, the staff had an early-morning breakfast for me since I was leaving before breakfast hours.

The hotel itself was clean and actually quite beautiful. You can tell, back in it's heyday it must've been quite spectacular. Now, it's a bit older, but still has big beautiful rooms closer to the front of the hotel. We stayed in a smaller room in back, but it was perfect for our needs. Clean, comfy and not too small. I would certainly stay here again! It was really great!

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room in the back of the hotel, so there wasn't much street noise, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I was on a cheap 1 night trip to Porto so I was looking for some non-expensive hotels. And it turns out Peninsular is an excellent choice! The location is perfect, close to the railway station, shops and restaurants. You can get here easily by tram from the airport. True the rooms are basic with some old furniture but there is a separate bathroom and for the price you pay it's more than enough. And final surprise was the breakfast. I've seen such breakfasts in 3stars hotels. Overall I can fully recommend if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I travel a lot, but this hotel was absolutely shocking I ever stayed in my life!

The air conditioning didn't work at all. We have to wear thick winter jacket all the time everywhere in the hotel include our own room. The building and room facilities are very old. The water tap couldn't close properly ( waste of water!), the room phone was broken, everywhere in the hotel is very dark etc...

If you want to use WiFi, you have to pay 1EUR every 30 minutes in the only reception area. (it's dark and freezing, so I went to McDonald for free WiFi and nice and warm)

I couldn't believe that this is 3 stars hotel! It was really nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomtom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#84 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residencial Girassol
Residencial Girassol
#81 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Poveira
Hotel Poveira
#60 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#65 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Property: Hotel Peninsular
Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira 21, Porto 4000-433, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peninsular 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Peninsular Porto
Pensao Peninsular Hotel Porto
Hotel Peninsular Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing