We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable”
Review of Casinha Sao Joao

Casinha Sao Joao
Ranked #90 of 1,709 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Walking along this part of the river front in Porto, there is one touristy outdoor cafe after another, with staffers working hard to sell you on their offerings. This tiny little cafe is tucked in at the very end (or start if you just came off the bridge) of this long line. Inside it is absolutely adorable from the decor to the menu. The food is delicious and very well priced. Everything is made to order -- as they say on the menu, this is not a fast food experience, so sit back enjoy the view from below ground and relax.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    154
    38
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Incredible, indulgent food. ”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic dishes, each one we tried was absolutely succulent. The octopus salad, beef with peppers and bravas were true highlights, full of flavour and cooked to perfection.

The dishes are very rich, so avoid if you're on a diet perhaps :)

The service was excellent, the waiter was incredibly friendly. As soon as a couple of dishes were eaten, a couple more appeared.

A tip if you do visit, go between 6pm and 7.30 and it will be pretty much empty.

Helpful?
Thank Tk543210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not sensational, but staple.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first evening, and I think it was good to start with some proper Portuguese food - we ordered a range of tapas that included rojõezinhos, bacalhau and seafood feijoada, all pretty rich but totally delicious. We also ordered sangria which I tipped into my lap, but the waiter had warned me about the glasses on the tables and was very helpful in clearing it up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nomadism83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Location, best food and friendliest service”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

we enjoyed this place a lot! Best place to be in Porto. Very good tapas, lot of vegetarian food also.
We will come again!
Michael and Luisa

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surprise”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Attracted by the Tapis menu and seats outside avaiable we were delighted by our very helpful waitress Astrid Molin Motg who was informative and advised all food was prepared to order. Food was delicious and arrived in sequence perfect temperature and the very best Tapis we had in Porto . the family were very welcoming. Well done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casinha Sao Joao also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Casinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing