We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Bacalhau

Bacalhau
Ranked #80 of 1,678 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bacalhau, Portuguese Wine&Food is a restaurant and a shop of high quality Portuguese products. We sell traditional food and products from all regions in the country, including a carefully chosen selection of Portuguese wines, cheeses, honey, olive oil, and many other range of national products. Bacalhau aims to be an innovative project, easily reachable through our on-line shop, it unfolds in 4 brands: Try Me, Send Me Home, Call Me e Take Me Home. Try Me, for when you visit our shop in Ribeira, Porto, and try our products. Send Me Home, for when you shop at our premises and choose to have the items delivered later - we'll take care of everything! Call Me, for when the only thing needed to reach us is browsing our web site, there you will find all our products! Last, but not least, Take me Home, for adventurers who, like us, love the Bacalhau project and want to represent it in their city. Come visit us!
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The service personnel was very young and seemed to be a little bit inexperienced (e.g., the way and order they served the wine). Despite this fact, they were acting very professional and were exceptionally friendly. The personnel tries the best to make you satisfied: when we arrived at the place it was full, so they were trying to figure out whether there are some guests who would be leaving soon. There weren't. So I asked them whether there are some nice places around and that it was difficult for us to find something decent around. The reason, my battery died on my phone and I only knew this one place with a decent TripAdvisor ranking. As they saw that we really want to eat here, they quickly put up a new table outside. Admittedly, we stayed rather long, they were putting together tables around us, but nevertheless the personnel stayed very friendly and welcoming.

Also the food was really nice, especially for the price and location. I would go there anytime again.

A word of warning: there is at least one place in Porto that has a large TripAdvisor certificate out, like telling they were the best place in 2013 - I could however not find them in the ranking at all. The place was close to the Sandeman wine cellar on the beach side. Confronting the personnel they told me that I should look better... and so on, finally they got aggressive and told me that they are full. The personnel would never get rude in a top ranked TripAdvisor restaurant as the reviewers would punish them instantly. In conclusion, always check online or in the TripAdvisor app and do not trust the certificates out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Gerente at Bacalhau, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Glad that finally you could get a table at our restaurant and that you enjoyed the experience here!
Thank you for the review!
BACALHAU
portuguese wine&food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    406
    129
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ What a perfect place to end a vacation”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just finished the most delicious meal!
We've had 2 nights in Porto and eaten here and at Jimao's.
They're borh absolutely delisious!
We think the food at Bacalhau was portuguise with an European twist. Where Jimao's was VERY Portuguise.
We had the pig cheeks with mashed sweet portatoes was so good and NOT dry in the meat at all. For dessert the cheese with figue and a port was the top of the iceberg!!
Thank you trip adviser for having advised us to eat here! It was just what we needed!
By the way, reservations are not possible in the weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Lotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Gerente at Bacalhau, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your meal here at Bacalhau.
See you again,
BACALHAU
portuguese wine&food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great service”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Our best night in Porto was spent at this charming restaurant by the river. We were lucky to get a free table outside and sat down for a glass of wine to enjoy the sunset. This restaurant was so nice that we ended up staying the entire evening ordering various starters and trying different wines. The food was delicious, the value for money good and the staff was very attentive and friendly. All in all we had a great experience and give our best recommendations.
Tips: it is not possible to reserve the tables outside and they are very popular, so try to beat the crowd and show up early.
You should also try the pepper jam; it is delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Gerente at Bacalhau, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are very happy that your best night in porto was in Bacalhau. It´s always a good feeling to read comments like yours, thank you so much!

BACALHAU
portuguese wine&food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff here were great - we turned up without a reservation and they still found a seat for us. The food on the whole was good, with my highlight being the starter of grilled cow's cheese with honey and pine nuts. Sadly the cod main I ordered was just too salty for me to finish, which is saying something because I not only have quite a high salt tolerance but also love Portuguese salted cod and ate it everywhere else on the holiday without the same complaint. Three chocolate mousse dessert was a good finish though, and the vinho verde excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomadism83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Manager at Bacalhau, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for the compliment and for the review!
I am sorry for the too salty codfish. Hope you can come back and have a perfect one!

Bacalhau
portuguese wine&food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food with a nice view!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We found this spot by a coincidence. The staff was really nice (good English!). The food was great and no one could complain that there was free wi-fi ;). The view on the Douro river was only the cherry on the top of the cake! Reccomended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Gerente at Bacalhau, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! Happy that you found us!

Bacalhau
portuguese wine&food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacalhau also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Bacalhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing