We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bacalhau

Bacalhau
Ranked #90 of 1,786 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bacalhau, Portuguese Wine&Food is a restaurant and a shop of high quality Portuguese products. We sell traditional food and products from all regions in the country, including a carefully chosen selection of Portuguese wines, cheeses, honey, olive oil, and many other range of national products. Bacalhau aims to be an innovative project, easily reachable through our on-line shop, it unfolds in 4 brands: Try Me, Send Me Home, Call Me e Take Me Home. Try Me, for when you visit our shop in Ribeira, Porto, and try our products. Send Me Home, for when you shop at our premises and choose to have the items delivered later - we'll take care of everything! Call Me, for when the only thing needed to reach us is browsing our web site, there you will find all our products! Last, but not least, Take me Home, for adventurers who, like us, love the Bacalhau project and want to represent it in their city. Come visit us!
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went twice: first time was on a Saturday, busy but attentive service. Had the cod cheeks which were v.good. Went for lunch on a Monday and obviously quiet and had a nice lunch. Had sausage stew and acorda. Both delicious.

The dishes came up in small cast iron type pots. Piping hot, burnt my tongue, but delicious. Good deli too. Would visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DCC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Manager at Bacalhau, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your review!
We´re very glad that you enjoyed it here. Come the third time for one more pleasant meal!

Bacalhau, Portuguese Wine&Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 358 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

we have travelled from lisbon to porto and have been very lucky to have enjoyed some wonderful meals (some pricey MOST not)
well--this is the BEST!
great wine list and the menu items are well balanced and prepared to perfection....
the views are splendid and the service is even better
a must :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank afbp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Manager at Bacalhau, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review!
Hope to see you again here enjoying one more great meal!

Bacalhau Portuguese Wine&Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lovely restaurant right outside where I was staying (Oporto Home River Front Apartments). Had a tapas style lunch on the first day, great recommendations from staff - had to go back. Best food, wine and service I experienced in Porto on my short stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheppaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Manager at Bacalhau, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We are very glad that you enjoyed our restaurant!
Thank you for the review,
Bacalhau | Portuguese Wine&Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

this is for all foodies .... We worked our way through the Tapas menu and had some really exquisite food, matched by some great wines. Lunch became an event ... And we also managed to buy the wines we really liked to take home. Overall one of the nicest eating experiences for ages.
Will definitely be going back on our next visit to Porto / sitting outside watching the boats go by on the Douro / almost sublime ....and despite our very best endeavours we managed to get the bill to 80 Euros including the wine we took away ! RESULT !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidinbmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Manager at Bacalhau, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello again,
thank you for your nice comment!
Waiting for you the next time you come to Porto then!
Bacalhau Portuguese Wine&Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Enjoyed lunch here.fine views over river Douro,good food ,very we'll presented and slightly offbeat/ inventive menu .Good service and excellent choice of wines.Cost for two people

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacalhauPorto, Manager at Bacalhau, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Glad that you enjoyed our restaurant.
Thank you for posting a comment!

Bacalhau Portuguese Wine&Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacalhau also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Bacalhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing