We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional
Ranked #116 of 2,262 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

We were very pleased with everything we had in Essencia Lusa. For appetisers we tried the tuna pâté and the crab pâté, both were so nice. The main was an enormous bowl of delicious seafood rice that we couldn’t finish because we were too full, but the staff were nice enough to let us take it home. We’re sorry our holiday is now over because we would have loved to go back.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Giorgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 622 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2019

Dropped in on the off-chance for a late night meal on the day we arrived in Porto. What a lucky find!
We both had an excellent three course meal. The arroz con Mariscos was magic! Many others looked at our plates with envy!
Definitely one to visit on our next trip!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Only around the block from our guest house, this was an ideal choice for a quiet evening meal. The house speciality was home made pates. We had the delicious shrimp
(Pate D Mar) and tuna (Pate de Atun) pates with french toast. The highlight was the
fish stew (Caldo de Peixe) which was only €25 for two people.
Would go again.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

Staff is amazing, good food and fair prices! I totally recommend it, I will be back for sure. Have a good one.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Mikeportotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Very good, authentic classic Portuguese restaurant near the Douro. On a side street, this little restaurant serves fantastic food, substantial portions, and a very pleasant experience. The service is good, although seems a little harried at times. The food is delicious, and every piece of seafood we ate was top quality. I haven’t been impressed with the cod croquettes, except for here, where the cod was properly rehydrated and most of the salt removed. The prawn appetizer was as fresh as it gets, as was our seafood rice, which was packed with seafood and flavor. This one is a great alternative to the overpriced, touristy restaurants down by the river.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AAMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing