We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tender tasty octopus”

Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional
Reserve with
Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 1,630 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tender tasty octopus”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I was impressed with this restaurant. At first we were only ones there but it soon filled. I had Polvo which was extremely tender and tasty and my wife had the cod which was also nice. The starters were bread and a tuna based dip and a crab based dip. These are put on the table and added to the bill. This is typical in many portugese restaurants. If you don't want them then just refuse these when offered. Service was helpful and had English menus. Highly recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    115
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The best restaurant in ribeira..we loved the food And the staf..verry goud cervice..smal And romantic, my girl frende loved the atmosfere..And the food was realy deliciose..we hope to comeback soooon..we loved all Portugal..thanks to the mum of Carlos verry goud cook..always smiling.. Big kiss

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kader M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food, Amazing Price!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely local restaurant.

Had the roasted cod and my partner had the beef and both were so yummy. Waiter was fantastic and poured us a free tipple of Port at the end of the night. Starters of bread and cod cakes seems to be the norm in a lot of eateries here (be warned - not free) but these came with the added bonus of dips. They may not have been free but the meal overall was so reasonably price and so beautifully tasting that we did not mind. Three beers, two mains, two ports, bread basket & dips and 4 cod cakes for 28 euros.

Nice modern decor and I enjoyed the random mix of music playing! We walked in to Dolly Parton and ended on Al Green!

Lovely place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneHardwick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic restaurant ever !!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It was best memory of trip in my mind, this place is beautiful and luxury
but also reasonable price. Of course food is absoulutely delicious and services are really good.
Especially friendly and hospitable Chef is there. These all makes me happy and good memory.
If i visit to Portugal, I'll visit this restaurant again ! I recommend you guys who want to have
gorgerous dinner with good price, espeically couples.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SPLITDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hidden gem in the heart of Porto”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A great friendly place in the city centre. Prices are stunningly honest for it's location, the food quality is awesome. We found this place on our first day in Porto and came back for my birthday later. The roasted octopus is one of the best things I have eaten in my life. Just wow. Liked everything about this place, could not wait to go to Porto again and eat there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaTati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Essencia Lusa Restaurante Tradicional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing