We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely atmosphere, delicious Cachorro Especial”

Gazela Cachorrinhos da Batalha
Ranked #47 of 2,232 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Came in on a rainy evening. Seating is bar-style facing the cook, a couple small tv's on the wall. Very friendly atmosphere. It wasn't crowded when I went, but you do pretty much sit elbow to elbow with your fellow guests. Most people there were tourists. Got the typical Cachorro Especial and fino (beer). Delicious snack. Piri-piri sauces gives the Cachorro Especial a great little kick of spice and the crunchy baguette is delightful. It's a small snack, but flavorful and they also have other sandwiches or fries to order. It was fun to watch the chef make them in front of you. It was a little hard to find since Google Maps wasn't going to the exact location.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 822 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2017

To come here is experiencing the locals food habits, this is a sacred spot. They serve the most delicious and specials hot dogs in town and you won't find anything quite like this anywhere else. I highly recommend a visit or two...

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank nunopereira99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

5 stars for great hot dogs.

I know what you are thinking. Why eat hot dogs when you can eat baculhau?
Because these are the best hot dogs you will ever eat. On perfect buttered buns. With cold beer.and fries with plenty of salt. The medical insurance industry will thank you for shortening your life by a bit.

This very small place seats 14 and stands 6. For its genre, the service is perfect.

We had fun here. They ask if you want molho picante on your dog. Their definition of picante is not mine. I am carrying around a bottle of hot sauce that I received as a gift in a restaurant in Lisboa. It was made by a woman from Mozambique. She makes a salsa picante. The staff tasted it and poor Fabio thought he was going to die.

+ Excellent service.
+ Wi-Fi
+ Clean WC
- paper napkins
- low end flatware

€13.40

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DaveBarnesDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

This place was everything I expected and more. A great/cool experience to enjoy some great food, drinks and company. Many locals go to this place and that's why I loved it so much. The service was absolutely amazing and very nice. I ordered the "hotdog" sandwich with their spicey sauce and it is one of the best tasting things I had in Portugal. Would definitely recommend to anyone in Porto as this was a top experience that couldn't be beat. Thank you!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank marccN9897VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Just had the famous hot dog with Piri Piri sauce, fries, beer. All great. Friendly service. Got there before noon to get a seat and it worked fine. If you like this type of food you should love it.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank JeffreyPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazela Cachorrinhos da Batalha also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Gazela Cachorrinhos da Batalha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing