We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homemade food at low price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Roma

Restaurante Roma
Ranked #165 of 1,611 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homemade food at low price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We've stumbled upon this restaurant soon after our arrival in Porto and decided to have a lunch. The staff was very welcoming. The restaurant is clean and tidy (if you don't mind the paper tablecloths). The food is fantastic and the portions are really generous despite the fact that we opted for the 1/2 portion. The house wine was really good too. The surprise part was the bill which was far less then expected. We liked it so much that we came the next evening for dinner. We opted for the fish this time. The bacalhau was very tasty. My wife opted for the fresh fish which was also well cooked. The deserts were nice although a bit too sweet for me. And again a very reasonable price for a big meal. I would gladly go again if I happen to visit Porto some day in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    99
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaves, Portugal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap restaurant with homemade food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We (me and my boyfriend) went to that restaurant after seeing its good rating on trip advisor. Everything is cheap and food was good, with typical Portuguese dishes and desserts (and I know what I m talking about cause I m Portuguese :-) ). Also, the staff (father and son) is very nice,polite, and helpful. We paid 13 euros for 2, including appetizers and desserts (the chocolate mousse is homemade ;-)))) ).
If you re looking for cheap prices, nice people and simple/good food, that's the place you should pick.

Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinoujscie, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice Porto restaurante”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We can definitely recommend this restaurant for those looking good local food in reasonable prize. Maybe reasonable is too big word! :) You will find very cheap options starting from 3.5 EUR. The food is tasty and the portions are satiating. Add the wine and you will have perfect meal in superb prize.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lukaszj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cheap and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This place was very near to where we stayed. It was visited by lots of locals wich was a good sign. Staff is very friendly and speaks English. The prices are very low and a full portion is ment to be shared by too. And one full portion is enough for two was our experience. The food is simple but good. Lots of rice, fries, salad and meat on a plate and good vino verde next to it gave us a good experience. You should really try their homemade deserts. They are lovely. Just as the bill was.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FluffyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is great, it offers great value for money and has a lot of portuguese eating there. Recommendations all around! No good if you're a vegetarian though - but then again, so is everything in Porto.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Roma also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing