We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Friends in Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa dos Loios by Shiadu
Ranked #7 of 163 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 Friends in Portugal”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really loved our short stay in Porto and if we could of changed our vacation plans we would of definitely stayed longer at the Casa dos Loios. The boutique hotel was really wonderful and the staff were awesome! They were very welcoming and made us feel special (which after having some trouble in France - we adored all the attention). The staff arranged a morning tour which was perfect as we only had a day and we were able to at least get a feeling for Porto. Must go back! The location was perfect walking distance to the river, metro (train) and many sites. We got there by taxi in the dark and weren't too sure, as there was only a tall door amongst buildings on a narrow street - but once in, we saw how perfect it all was. The Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses are very professionally run (we also stayed at the Monte Belvedere in Lisbon) - it was great staying at both.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD_Pollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    95
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
83
329
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It was a wonderful experience. Marco, Ines, and Patricia were so kind and helpful. Marco said he wants guests to feel like this is their home, and it felt that way. They set you down right away and give you a map and point out the important areas to visit. The location is fantastic. The rooms were good size. You do have to lock yourself in the room with the old-fashioned room key, and the lights in the exterior hallways are on motion sensor, but I got used to it. There is no one on site after 10pm but they are back at 7am. Being a solo woman traveler, I wasn't sure how I would feel about that at first, but after the first night, I didn't even think about it again. The breakfast is delicious. They always have cake (a different one each day!) and these yummy french toast slices that you can grab any time of day, and offer a glass of port if you so desire. There is a great restaurant directly across the street called Baga that I would highly recommend. I had to move to another hotel for my last two nights in Porto and was really sad to have to leave Casa dos Loios. I had to change my schedule and they were very accommodating in adjusting my reservation, which I really appreciated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2006world_traveler!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

When arriving at the city center and watching the Casa dos Loios façade, one is not expecting to find such a cool interior and a true warming accueil.
In fact, when you're asked if you had a good flight on your arrival, or if you had a good night sleep in the morning by the always friendly staff, it makes you feel at home.
Definitely my home when at Oporto.
Inesquecivél ( unforgettable )!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Mestre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights while cycling the Portuguese Camino. The staff were amazing and took the time to sit down with us on arrival to work out exactly what we would like to do during our short stay. We had stayed in the sister hotel in Lisbon and had the exact same experience. They are all obviously really well trained in giving this personalised attention - a brilliant formula and one that I have never come across before. We needed to get a bag transferred to Santiago and Ines and colleague couldn't have been more helpful in organising it. They also organised a tuk tuk tour for us and in general made us feel very at home. The location is excellent and within walking distance of all the major sights. It was very hard to find as the entrance is a single fairly ordinary door that looks like the entrance to someones home. However, the non-descript entrance belies a very impressive interior with beautiful restored staircase and outdoor terrace. It was reasonable value for money and I would definitely stay here again if ever I am luck enough to be back in Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

In an excellent, prime location in Porto center.
Fantastic and rich styling in a beautifully restored house.
Decoration combining antique furniture and design modern comfort.
Everything in excellent condition.
Very helpful and super-friendly hosts.
Unique Patio terrace to relax after a city walk.
Informal atmosphere feels like home.
Excellent value for money, not a single bemol, unless you absolutely want fitness or swimming pool.
Look no further, its most probably the best you can get in Porto for this budget.

Room Tip: Our room was looking out on the beautiful Patio terrace. We slept with the window wide open. Not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM_MIEK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent for 4 nights in this pleasant hotel. The location is the best (few minutes walking from all the touristic sights in the city). The decoration is unique and the rooms are really comfortable. I'm really happy to say that I never met a Staff so lovely and prepared. I would like to thank Marco, Ines and Patricia, for being so kind and courteous with me and my family. We really felt as we were at home. You guys are the best. I highly recommend this place for everyone and I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielPCPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A lovely furnished new b&b with extremely helpful and kind staff. The breakfast contains delicious homemade cakes that are available for free the whole day after. The location is in the center of the city, so most important sights are reachable within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 109 in Porto
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.3 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 109 in Porto
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Loios by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Loios by Shiadu

Property: Casa dos Loios by Shiadu
Address: Rua das Flores, 245, Porto 4050-267, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa dos Loios by Shiadu offers classy accommodation, with modern touches, in the heart of Porto. The property is a 5-minute walk from the Porto city centre and a 3-minute drive away from the iconic D. Luis I Bridge. The air-conditioned rooms at the Casa dos Loios by Shiadu feature a private bathroom with free toiletries, flat-screen cable or satellite TV, free WiFi access, tea/coffee-making facilities and a safe. Some rooms also feature a patio. A breakfast buffet is served each morning in the guest house, and can be served in the room at an extra cost. It is a 5-minute walk to the Aliados in the Porto city centre, with many bars, restaurants, cafes and shops. The local specialties include the Francesinha: a typical dish made up of meats, bread, cheese and a rich sauce. The house has a comfortable terrace where guests can take a break and enjoy the scenery while also reading a book from the property's library. Casa dos Loios has a babysitting service available. The Boutique Guesthouse is an 8-minute walk from Batalha and Santa Catarina Street, Porto's main commercial avenue. It is a 4-minute walk to the Sao Bento train station and its distinctive tiled panels with historical themes. Clerigos Tower is a 4-minute walk and the the Galerias Paris nightlife hotspot is a 5-minute walk away, with its many bars, cafes and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casa dos Loios by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing