We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa dos Loios by Shiadu
Ranked #9 of 159 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Gallen
1 review
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A lovely furnished new b&b with extremely helpful and kind staff. The breakfast contains delicious homemade cakes that are available for free the whole day after. The location is in the center of the city, so most important sights are reachable within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    94
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
82
327
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything perfect!
Staff, location, architecture, even weather...everything was really good at this fantastic B&B.
It's neat the refurbished old center of the city. You walk 5 minutes and you find wonderful monuments,
restaurants and shops.
Much better then some 5 stars hotels in other european cities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoAmorimPacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I will start off with the positives and there were loads. Firstly, this boutique guest house is in an old building with lots of unique and original design elements. Quirky paintings, typwriters and old sewing machines are placed at different spots. It is a 17th century building but has been restored with incredible taste marrying old and new.

The workers: I met Patricia, Ines, Marco and Lisa. They take the most incredible care of their guests. You get a full personalised "introduction to Porto" on a map so that you know where to go. Each of the team has their own "style". Patricia knew how to calm me down when I first arrived (after being lost for an hour and a half). Ines is a real "doer" - practical and a problem solver. And she makes really good jams. Marco and Lisa were just sweet and always looking out for me. Really, it felt like I'd moved into a new appartment and these were my new Portuguese room-mates.

I have to mention how much Ines helped me one day when a tour fell through. She quickly called Tuk Tours and within minutes, there was a little "tuk" waiting outside the hotel to bring me around ... all by myself!

One evening, they had a "green wine" reception in their lovely internal patio for guests. A glass of wine and chat with Ines and Lisa. What more could an Irish guy in Porto ask for?

On my last morning, I had to leave the hotel at 5:20am to catch a train to Lisbon. Lisa left me a packed breakfast in the fridge in the dining area. There was juice, an apple and some lovely cake made by the guys. It was the most touching gesture. The cherry on the cake.

I wholeheartedly recommend this place and would go back to Porto just to stay there. It IS... a little difficult to find... it's just a big door beside a little Mini-Preco supermarket... and this is the only qualm I have. I hope that the guys can do something about this... because as they will remember... I blazed in there in a bit of a temper at the start!!

xxxx You guys are the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejestem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the beginning of September in the Casa dos Loios (room 29), my mum and me. We absolutely loved the hotel.
- great location: in the middle of Porto, close to the Ribeira but also close to the commercial city center in Aliados/Caterina and one the nightlife hubs around Galeria de Paris.
- historical building completely restored: it has the charm of the old building but has been completely renewed.
- our room was big enough, with everything you need to make it comfortable.
- breakfast was very good and had some handmade cakes every day that you could also grab later in the day, alongside with teas and coffes. The breakfast is either served in a common room or in the terrace, which is lovely.
- service: that´s the best about this place. Everyone working there is extremely friendly, helfpul with recommendations, maps and everything you need. Nothing is too much trouble.

There were only some minor things: we had a weak WIFI in our room because it was the last one on the 2nd floor, I guess (room 29), and the breakfast room can get pretty crowded if everyone decides to eat at the same time. In my opinion, the bathroom lacked some more light.
However, as I said, really minor things. All in all, this is a great place to base your stay in Porto.

Room Tip: As i said, I would not recommend room 29 if you are a geek that needs strong WIFI reception. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Österreich
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay there. the staff was amazing (friendly, helpful and really made us feel welcome). it is very close to everything; just one street away from all shopping stuff.. 5 min walk to the river ... there is coffee AND cake availabale (for free) the whole day ...(how perfect is this) :)
additionally it is very modern, stylish and chic ... i would/will definitely book this again for my next travel to Porto

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalena00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is the second property of the Shaidu Guesthouses that I was staying in and what I loved was the tasteful architecture/decor across their properties.

The guesthouse takes the superstructure of a old mansion and put with a modern veneer on top; and the resultant amalgam is spectacular! The rooms are crisp, clean and with excellent sleep quality.

The location is brilliant. It's a stones thrown from the Riviera and almost all sights around. We hardly ever used the public transport to travel anywhere with this central a location.

The staff was super friendly ! Inis, Patricia and Marco bake super cakes will go out of the way to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayankAgarwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and I thought the place was wonderful :) Location is central, a short walk to every where! Quiet neighbourhood, though most of the areas in Porto is under construction at the moment. The staff are super friendly & helpful with tips on what to do, what to see, where to eat etc...thank you so much Inês & Luisa!!! They can book you any trip you like to do, call for confirmations on a tour you have, arrange a taxi for the airport, check times of trains, they even left me a small breakfast for my early morning departure, so nice and thoughtful :)
My room was the single, up by the roof. It has a small staircase up and has everything you would need...desk/chair, tv, night table, small closet, small but efficient shower/bathroom area, great firm bed, also decorated in a very unique/cool way...and the a/c worked well (in august you need this!).
The common room has plenty of space, plus has an outdoor patio attached, so nice to sit out and have a rest after a long day of walking. There are also snacks available during the day/night with ability to make coffee/tea. They also have an honesty policy for beverages/snacks.
It was an absolute gem of a place! I would not hesitate to book there again and will recommend it to all of my friends. Porto is a great city, book your trip straight away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarabbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#8 of 159 in Porto
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 232 in Porto
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Loios by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Loios by Shiadu

Property: Casa dos Loios by Shiadu
Address: Rua das Flores, 245, Porto 4050-267, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa dos Loios by Shiadu offers classy accommodation, with modern touches, in the heart of Porto. The property is a 5-minute walk from the Porto city centre and a 3-minute drive away from the iconic D. Luis I Bridge. The air-conditioned rooms at the Casa dos Loios by Shiadu feature a private bathroom with free toiletries, flat-screen cable or satellite TV, free WiFi access, tea/coffee-making facilities and a safe. Some rooms also feature a patio. A breakfast buffet is served each morning in the guest house, and can be served in the room at an extra cost. It is a 5-minute walk to the Aliados in the Porto city centre, with many bars, restaurants, cafes and shops. The local specialties include the Francesinha: a typical dish made up of meats, bread, cheese and a rich sauce. The house has a comfortable terrace where guests can take a break and enjoy the scenery while also reading a book from the property's library. Casa dos Loios has a babysitting service available. The Boutique Guesthouse is an 8-minute walk from Batalha and Santa Catarina Street, Porto's main commercial avenue. It is a 4-minute walk to the Sao Bento train station and its distinctive tiled panels with historical themes. Clerigos Tower is a 4-minute walk and the the Galerias Paris nightlife hotspot is a 5-minute walk away, with its many bars, cafes and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing