We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, good tapas and sangria”

Jimao Tapas e Vinhos
Reserve with
Jimao Tapas e Vinhos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Jimao is a restaurant that combines the best of Portuguese cuisine and offering tapas dishes with carefully chosen by our chef
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
234 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice location, good tapas and sangria”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The restaurant, quite small, is located in the main esplanade of Porto quayside.
We ordered a combination of tapas and a jar of sangria.
The dinner was very good and also the atmosphere was cool even if the fog covered the river like in a november evening!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iqipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much iqipen for your review.

We are glad to know you enjoyed our tapas and sangria!

Porto is beautiful even in foggy days, isn´t it?

Best regards,

Jimão(Carmen)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,075
    328
    76
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be better”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner at this small restaurant on the historical square based on recommendations from Trip Advisor. I found the staff and the owner there very friendly and accommodating. The small plate of prawns that I had as starter were very good, with a nice light sauce. And the white Douro Valley house wine was excellent. However, I found the grilled cod to be just a bit over cooked and thus a little chewy. The desert though, chocolate tort with berries and sorbet, was sinfully good, and even more so with a glass of aged tawny port.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much Mr. Edison for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed our menu. Thank you too for your comment about the cod fish dish. We are trying very had to get the exact point of cooking for it. Advises like yours are very important for the improvement of our service and therefor, the satisfaction of our customers!

Yes, Mr. Edison, Petit Gateau is a sin. Thank you Chef Melo!

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
333 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Wow, fresh, great food and service, GREAT value”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place "hits the spot".

Nice light casual lunch. We had small plates of bean salads, cod salad, quiche and such-- the freshest ingredients, The olive oil and herbs smelled and tasted like they were just from the garden. Nice small bottle of wine. All for 25 Euro!!!!

The owner runs the place and was authentic and lovely.

My husband really hates "touris trap" restaurants and this one is NOT. It is near a main square, filled with tons of large touristy looking places - and this one is small, a hidden gem

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much Doby47 for your kind comments.

Yes, Jimão is a little restaurant and as you experienced is situated in a very historical and well known square. Jet, beeing at the farther corner of it, we have the privilege of our privacy...

We are delighted to know you enjoy our menu and our company. We have a lot of respect for food and the way we welcome our customers and to acknnowledge your satisfaction, and your hudsband´s makes it all so compensated. Thank you very much Mrs. Doby 47.

Hope to see you back in Porto. You know where you have an open door.

Have a beautiful fall season.

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a suggestive location”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have visited Porto with my boyfiend this summer. After a whole day spent walking around the city, we chose Jimao tapas e vinhos for a light dinner, accompanied with a good glass of sangria.
The location is excellent, you can see the river and the wine cellars in the lively douro riverside, without being in its most crowded and noisy part.
The service was excellent, the owner and staff were really kind and explained every part of the menu to us, and so was the food.
As a couvert we had shrimp pate and bread, then we chose some tapas: shrimps, a board of cheese and ham, some baked onions onions with a lovely sauce.
We spent about 40 euros, which is a fair price for the most touristic part of Porto.
Would definitely repeat the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much Annalisa C for your kind comments. We are delightful to know you had a nice evening in our company. The satisfaction of our customers is ours and provides us with a great amount of energy to keep giving you our best. Thank you!

Have a wonderful fall season.

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food in the Historic Square”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Happened upon this restaurant when walking around the Ribeira and was very much impressed with the food. The majority of restaurants in the Ribeira are about what you would expect in a heavily touristed area. Get the people in the door, serve them below average food, get them out, repeat. Not here. The food was excellent, the service was excellent, the wine was excellent, the view was excellent, and it's hands down the best place in the square that I found. Very impressive tapas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much JCMTPSC for your kind review.

Jimão, as you have the opportunity to see, is an small restaurant. Been so, we are in the position of hosting our guests as if in our own home would be. That´s our luck and satisfaction.

We really apreciate your comments and wish you a very nice fall season.

You know where you have an open door in Porto.

Sincerely,

Jimão(Carmen)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimao Tapas e Vinhos also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Jimao Tapas e Vinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing