We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice people”

Jimao Tapas e Vinhos
Reserve with
Jimao Tapas e Vinhos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,797 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Jimao is a restaurant that combines the best of Portuguese cuisine and offering tapas dishes with carefully chosen by our chef
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came here unexpected on a very warm day. The lady of the house quickly gave some nice cold water to our dog and for us the same! She proposed to us the gazpacho, which was wonderfull, just like the other tapas with melon or ham or toetilla or eggs ... Very nice people, hosting you like you are their very first visitor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3Joy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you 3Joy3 for your nice review!

The day you visit our Jimão was extremely hot, yes it was! Hosting such a nice people as you are it is a pleasure! Your dog is a sweety too!

We are happy to know you enjoy our tapas.

Have a wonderful summer! Hope to see you back some day!

Jimão (Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 764 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been traveling through Portugal for the last 10 days. We have had dinner in amazing places from Lisbon to Sagres to Albufeira.
The dinner we had last night was the best!! The service is wonderful- very attentive and welcoming. We ordered a bottle of wine and a few of the lovely tapas. Everything was perfect.
This is a little away from the other tourist spots - which in my opinion is a good thing.
I really wish we were staying in Porto one more night as we know we would be going back here again.
Thanks to Carmen and her wonderful staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you Mariam K for your kind review!

We are delighted to know you enjoyed our food and company!

Portugal has wonderful places, coasts, views...and awesome people. So glad you had the opportunity of traveling around!

It was a pleasure to meet you. Have a wonderful summer!

Hope to see you back in Porto, Portugal!

Jimão (Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just went here to kill some time people watching--and ended up spending hours. They were very helpful with choosing wine, and while the kitchen wasn't open when we were there, the cold tapas offered were amazing. Great find.

Thank BethRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very much BethRandom for your nice words.

Even though Jimão is open from 12:00 am until 12:00 pm, we do take a kitchen break (from 16:00 - 19:00) That does not mean we do not keep serving tapas and snacks thru the afternoon...

We are glad you enjoyed them!

Contributing to the wellbeing of our customers it is a pleasure!

Hope to see you back in Porto, Portugal! Have a nice summer!

Jimão (Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We tried to go here on Tuesday (yesterday) without a booking. We showed up to a very closed looking restaurant however a lady was out the front locking up. We ended up speaking with her (the owner Carmen) and she said so sorry it was their day off. We asked if we could come tomorrow and she went out of we way to take our booking on the spot. She also made several recommendations for our evening that night which we took up and were great. She even opened the restaurant to get us a map/guide book and offered to ring restaurants to make a booking for us.

We went back tonight for our dinner. We sat outside on the little alley overlooking the few restaurants in front leading to the waterfront. The couvert was lovely. We ordered mains, veil and pork, amazing and we also had dessert!! Soooooo nice and well priced (mains €9-14 and dessert €3-5)! You can have tapas here as well and their menu looked great prices €2-€5 we wish we had an extra night to try them! We also enjoyed lovely wine and port as well.

Carmen is a lovely hostess she is so kind and also gave us a free tapas whilst we awaited or mains. She is so open with information about Porto, with some great suggestions of where to go and what to do. We also asked her about a good place to stop on our drive between Porto and Leon... She took off for 5mins to look at a map and came back with 6 towns we could stop at!

Overall an amazing experience all round. Food was amazing. Wine was amazing. Service was beyond anything you could ask for. ! The chef also popped out and he was very friendly and down to earth.

We are massive foodies and highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichalaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I do not know how to appreciate your kind words!

First of all, hosting such a delighful couple as you are makes our time so enjoyable that anything can´t go wrong!

The concept of our restaurant is to proporcionate a relaxing and satisfactory experience to our customers. That incudes good quality food, freshness, good services and the idea of helping along your visit to Porto, Portugal.

It has been a pleasure knowing you. I hope you had fun in Spain :) Have a wonderful summer!

Hope to see you back some day, who knows... You have a friend in Porto!

Best regards,

Jimão (Carmen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

When we first tried to dine here the resteraunt was closed for their day off but we were lucky enough to meet the owner, Carmen. She couldn't have been more helpfull, she sorted us out for a resteraunt in the mean time and took our booking for the following night. The location is great, just behind the tourist traps with a lovely view of the river and people coming and going. The food was amazing, the best we have had yet in Portugal. The menu has everything from tapas to elegant full main meals, also an extensive wine list from local wine makers at very good prices. We cannot recommend this place enough and Carmen, the owner, spared no expense making not only our night but our entire trip so comfortable. She is also one of the nicest people you will ever meet. Thank you for a wonderfull night Carmen and all the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimaoTapaseVinhos, Proprietário at Jimao Tapas e Vinhos, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you very much Tim F for your kind words!

We, at Jimão, make a great effort for serving the best quality food, freshness and a touch of originality ...

Yet, customers as nice and friendly as you are make it much easier and enjoyable!

We think a restaurant, specially in our location, is much more than a place where you serve food. It is about the experience, sharing, helping.. an many other human relations that we hope make your visit complete. And our job so rewarding!

Have a beautiful trip to Spain, enjoy every single minute of it!

You know where you have a friend in Porto, Portugal.

Thanks again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimao Tapas e Vinhos also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Jimao Tapas e Vinhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing