We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheery and bright!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Musica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel da Musica
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheery and bright!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you want a place to brighten up your stay at Porto, then this hotel is the place to stay. From the reception space and the people at the front desk, to the corridors, the rooms and the food court at the basement, everything is bright, cheery and well designed. The hotel is close to the Casa da music metro stop but is a bit difficult to find because there is no signboard. However the building where it is housed is well known, so one only has to ask directions to it.

We stayed in a room for three. The design was unusual. Soon after a short passage way from the room door, were separate cubicles for the WC and shower, and a wash basin. This part of the room is nicely separated from the beds. The room was long, well lit and cheery. However, we felt that functionality has been sacrificed at the altar of design - there is inadequate storage space, particularly for the luggage (we had only 2 small pieces apart from back packs and yet only one small stool on which to keep them!).

Right from the long corridor that leads to the rooms, one can see the food court at the basement. One has to go through the back of the reception - all spaces are beautifully designed - and down the stairs to the food court. We were at Porto during the Brazil- Columbia match of the FIFA World Cup and enjoyed watching the match on big screen at the Food Court, while eating some delicious thin crust pizzas. The hotel reception had a large television and was an equally good (and quieter) place to watch the match.

The breakfast spread was good with good variety and choices including eggs. We had some freshly brewed coffee which alone was charged extra but at a very fair price.

Service (room service and otherwise) was excellent and we enjoyed our interaction with people at the front desk and in particular, the Brazil born but otherwise fully Portugese Patricia.

Stay fresh and cheery Hotel da Musica! You brightened up our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

We keep waiting for your return.

Yours Faithfully,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    252
    74
    21
    6
See reviews for
60
259
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we had a great time. Hotel is modern, rooms are large enough, right, spotlessly clean and have all you need. Bathroom is very modern, we liked the design. As usual with this kind of modern bath, design is put on top of practicality, but we don't mind that at all, we really liked the place, some splashing and water here and there really didn't matter in the scheme of things. Some are complaining about getting to their rooms; indeed, corridors might seem tricky, but we enjoyed exploring the hotel and finding various routes to go to the restaurant for breakfast or to get to the underground parking.
We had a hire car as Porto was a 3 days stop on our Portugal tour, and the hotel is easy to find from the airport, and then easy to get out of the city without having to drive into Porto itself. Parking is in a secure underground car park and costs 9.50 euros a day. Access to city is also easy enough, if one wants to drive (although I recommend walking or public transport, much better ways to explore the city than driving through it).
As mentioned in other comments, hotel is not exactly in the heart of the city center, but for us was very convenient, we liked walking to the river shore and back, it was good exercise, we liked to observe the city and to lower our food after delicious dinners :) .
The hotel itself is located inside an old market, which is a light bright modern space with various food and drink options, very nice atmosphere to it on various moments of the day: business lunches, people on lunch break, or joining for drinks after office hours. Really nice to mingle with the locals, we found it very popular.
Breakfast was nice, we liked it that it was enough variety on the dishes but not food wastage as we have observed in other hotels. Fruits were very fresh, coffee really good, and staff were very smiley and attentive. Overall service of the hotel was good.
Check out was not the fastest, but the reception staff spoke good English (which was refreshing after other previous experiences) and they have been very helpful each time we asked for information or direction.
All in one, we had a great time in this hotel and we recommend it if one is happy with being a short distance out of the center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oana_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

We keep waiting for your return.

Yours Faithfully,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is not in the center of Porto, but it is walking distance form the Casa da Musica metro stop, which mean is well connected with both the airport an the city center (10-15 min trip). Actually, if you don't mind walking a bit, you don't even need the metro to reach the city center.The hotel itself is located inside an old market (hard to distinguish from the outside, the hotel, I mean, not the market...), which also host diverse informal meal and drinks corners (quite nice and convenient, actually). My room overlooked the hotel lobby, but it was well noise-insulated. Rooms are not very large, but contain all necessary stuff. They are kept very clean. Bathroom is sort of "design style", with all the associated problems (water leaks a bit from the shower, ..). Breakfast was abundant and of good quality (orange juice could be better, however, but the bread and pastry selection was great). I had dinner one night at the restaurant. Just fine, but you have better options in the vicinity, namely Casa Agrícola. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

All considered, it is a satisfactory place to stay. Woulnd't mind to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lobby are quiet (i.e 310, 312,...) Not so sure about those with windows open to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack_the_Fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your recent stay in our hotel.
The comments of our customers are very important, so we can continuously improving our services.

Hopping you stay with us in a next opportunity.

Best Regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

if you have a stroller... don't go there... you have to go trough the restaurant... find the elevator... and go up... but sometimes the restaurant is closed... it is really near casa da music.... but it isn't the best place for sightseeing...

the breakfast isn't the best one... I've seen better in a lot of 3 stars... its not terrible... but these days a lot of hotels are going more bio and sustainable friendly... for example they could use some fresh orange juice... but they choose to use packed one...

the bathroom is not very practical... but... the hotel is as it should be... brand new,,, very clean... and staff is ok...

in this review they ask me about the pool... i dont know if there is one....


i really don't like the decor... a little bit to centered in the music theme... but that is just my opinion...

I'm really loyal to hotels i like, and have a tendency to repeat them, because i like to feel at home... but I'm not planning to repeat this one!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your opinion concerning your recent stay in our hotel.

Regarding some of the things you had´nt like in our hotel, in respect the staircase as may know, this building was not built for the hotel, it was a market that was converted.
Therefore it was not possible to change the input or replace the staircase, since it is historical, as well as the entire building.

The alternative that we pass beyond the restaurant's entrance and exit be made through the garage, so our guests do not have any trouble getting around.

We are sorry that did not appreciate the hotel's decor, but if our name is the Music Hotel has all the logic that the decor was going over the same theme.

In thermes of the toilet we choose the Open Space style toillet, consisting absence of partitions (walls) between the bedroom and the bathroom.
Querying our site, the gallery has photos were is clear provision of the same.

Hopping to receive you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel is modern and funky and although the rooms aren't large they are bright, modern, spotlessly clean and have all you need. All the floors are named after different composers.
We had a car as we were moving onto the Duoro valley for the 2nd half of our trip and the hotel is easy to find from the airport and then easy to get out of the city without having to drive into Porto itself. Parking is in a secure underground carpark and costs 9.50 euros a day.
Breakfast was fine but the real advantage is you are joined to the Bom Successo market which is a light bright modern space with dozens of food and drink options. It is very popular with the locals and had a great atmosphere day and night.
The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the metro which will whisk you into the centre in about 5 mins and about 2 mins walk from the main roundabout where all the hop on/hop off tour buses stop
The only negative was a very slow checkout - it took over 20 minutes as although there were 2 receptionists on the desk only one was checking people out. When it was our turn, the girl was friendly and helpful but didn't apologise for the long wait.
If you want to stay in the atmospheric Porto centre then this place is not for you, but if you are happy with being a short distance out of the centre then this is a great choice.
We can also recommend Casa Agricola - a lovely local restaurant with excellent value and quality food - approx 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your recent stay in our hotel.

The comments of our customers are very important, so we can continuously improving our services.

I apologize for the delay in your check out.
There were in fact two people in the reception but one of them was our Trainee and as such was not authorized to conduct Check Outs by herself.

Hope to receive you again in our Hotel.

Yours Faithfully,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a bit of trouble finding the hotel but once we arrived we were amazed!
The female receptionist (her name started with a C) was truly wonderful and beyond helpful!
The room was perfect! Clean and very modern!
Sleep Quality was perfect as well, such good beds!
Breakfast was variated and had a lot of choice.
The only negative was that we had to leave...
Compliment for the housekeeping staff as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

Hope hearing from you soon,

Best Regards

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A really good hotel for our 2-night stay - first time in Porto. Bedrooms are not large but very stylish, very well designed and very clean. They are perfect for a few nights stay. Hotel staff are helpful, efficient & honest. The breakfast buffet is good but not wonderful. A bonus is that the hotel is located above a really good food court where there's lots of good food, wine & port kiosks - on our first night in Porto some locals bought us drinks there while we listened to some live Fado! And the hotel is 7 or 8 minutes walk from a metro line that goes to the airport and also to the city centre. Would definitely stay again for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina V, Guest Experience Manager at Hotel da Musica, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel.

Opinions like yours encourage us, to improve our services day by day.

Hope hearing from you soon,

Best Regards

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#30 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#31 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#13 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#37 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Musica

Property: Hotel da Musica
Address: Mercado do Bom Sucesso Largo Ferreira Lapa 183, Porto 4150-323, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Musica 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Hotel da Musica dispoe de 85 quartos distribuidos por 4 pisos. Espacosos, modernos e inspirados em pautas musicais de compositores famosos, oferecem condicoes ideais para estadas com o maximo de conforto e comodidade, no ambiente aconchegante de um acorde perfeito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel da Musica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing