We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O Mercado

O Mercado
Ranked #453 of 1,632 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located at the World Heritage part os Oporto, inside the famous Market "Ferreira Borges" this restaurant offers the typical oporto legendary beer-house foods recreated by acclaimed Chef Owner Luis Americo. Fantastic relaxed abidance and the best Tonic Port in the world!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had to wait a while for our table, but we enjoyed every minute of it.

The Tiramisu was small but fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidihoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    173
    76
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice interior but more expensive place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I just went there for a coffee so I can't say anything about the food.
The interior is interesting and different from what you mostly see in Porto. The service is okay but they did forget to bring us ice even after asking for it again after ordering. Maybe they just didn't understand, I don't know.

By the price of the coffee I'd say this place is expensive for Porto, an espresso was 1.20€. It's usually around 0.70€. But as it is a bit fancier place I guess it's fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLinnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Discreetly located with no signs outside indicating the restaurant / bar inside, this was a great place to stumble across. The food was quite good, the desserts (especially the tiramisu made with tawny port wine) excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. Very cool place that I could imagine would do very well amongst hipsters in London.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12CPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our third visit to O Mercado, and yet again we left very full and very happy. The steaks are not for the faint hearted, they are large and unless you specify, will come to the table cooked rare, but the flavour is tremendous and always well seasoned. The wines are good and if you have room for deserts they are quirky but again are superb. This restaurant can be very busy, but the staff are well trained, friendly and efficient, so you will not have much of a delay. In my view this is a must go to venue in Porto and is reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Generally in many cities have an Old Market food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Generally in many cities have an Old Market food; there are multiple spaces to eat. In this market has been redesign and its top is the restaurant, with a simple menu, their pizzas are very good quality and range of wines region make it desirable

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Mercado also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to O Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing