We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the centre of Porto”
Review of Cale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cale Guest House
Ranked #12 of 173 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here and wish we could have stayed longer! It's in an ideal location, close to the Metro and all central sights. The staff were so helpful and friendly, giving us suggestions of where to go and where to eat. Their English is extremely good too! The house has character but has been decorated in a modern style. It was spotlessly clean. With only 7 rooms it has a very relaxed atmosphere and you benefit from the personal touch. Stay here!

Room Tip: We really liked our room (No.2) at the back of the house with its own patio. It was probably quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Guest House is a wonderful place to stay... The location is perfect, with all sites being just a short scenic stroll away. The rooms are very spacious with wood floors and excellent bathrooms. Rooms have large windows that provide great views of the city. The best thing however about the Guest House is definitely the staff. The young, friendly staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about all things Porto. The staff more than once went out of their way to be helpful to me and really gave me helpful tips on where to eat and what to visit. I also can not forget to mention the breakfast, everything was fresh with nice variety. With great location, rooms, breakfast and exceptional staff what more can you ask for.....
When in Porto, check out the Cale Guest House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjnmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This guest house is beautifully refurbished in a modern style, still respecting the old building. We had a three bed room for the first night with a view of the city. Spacious, clean, good beds, bath tub, wooden floors, attention to detail, three French balconies. The second night we stayed in a smaller double room which was not as bright but had its own private-ish courtyard (the fire escape leads to it). The guest house is family owned (he is an architect, she is an English teacher) and family run. Apart from the owners we met their daugther, son-in-law and god daughter. Everybody were super friendly, very helpful and seemed genuinely interested in giving us the best experience. They gave us great tips for things to do, places to see and restaurants to eat in. Breakfast is standard continental which suited us just fine. I recommend everybody who's considering a trip to Porto to stay at this place. We're definitely going back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This guest house feels like it should be shouted about. A restored house in the centre of Porto, just up from the Bolsa, a five-minute walk from the river, it is in the centre of things and means that seeing Porto is a joy as it is on your doorstep.

We had a room in the attic- there's no lift, so the stairs will do you good. The room itself was eye-opening- a dressing-room, which opened out onto a sizeable bedroom, off which there was a sitting-room (with a sofa-bad), and a decently-sized bathroom. All done in impeccable taste, minimalist without being cold, parquet flooring, starched linens, all you could want.

The staff are brilliant, chatty without being intrusive, and willing to give advice (if you have a car, check the deal they have with the local car-park, 200m away- other car parks are extortionate). Breakfast (included in the price for us) was excellent.

There are works going on nearby (July 2012) but the noise was more than bearable- may be worse lower down, but it only starts at 8. The view from the window more than made up for this- over the rooftops of Porto to Vila Nova de Gaia and the names of all the port houses- Dows, Cockburns, Fonseca... Enchanting.

Excellent place- would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the road may be noisy, Those towards the back will have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank mgliosci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 111 in Porto
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
1872 River House
1872 River House
#5 of 173 in Porto
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#9 of 173 in Porto
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
B The Guest
B The Guest
#8 of 173 in Porto
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
InPatio Guest House
InPatio Guest House
#2 of 173 in Porto
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cale Guest House

Address: Largo Sao Domingos 28, Porto 4050-545, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: $79 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitar o Porto é experienciar o passado e revisitar as origens da cidade que foi, em 1996, eleita pela UNESCO Património Cultural da Humanidade. O Porto convida o Mundo a explorar a cidade e os seus espaços e monumentos classificados. Nós convidámo-lo a ficar connosco enquanto descobre a magia do Porto.A Cale Guest House, localizada no Largo de S. Domingos onde desde o sec XIV se viu instalado o comércio da cidade, beneficia de uma centralidade única. No coração do centro histórico da cidade do Porto, facilmente se pode aceder aos principais monumentos assim como à zona comercial da cidade.A casa, presentemente reconstruída, combinando o antigo com o contemporâneo, tem 7 quartos repletos de história, mas com uma decoração moderna que oferece um ambiente acolhedor e confortável. Esperamos que desfrute da sua estadia.Visiting Oporto means to experience the past and revisit the origins of the town which is UNESCO World Cultural Heritage. Oporto invites the world to explore the town, its spaces and classified monuments. We invite you to stay with us while you discover the magic of Oporto.Cale Guest House, located in Largo S. Domingos where tradesman have carried out their business since the 14th century, benefits from a unic centrality in the heart of the historic town, within easy reach to the main monuments as well as to the commercial area of town.The building, recently reconstructed, combining the old with a contemporary design, has 7 rooms full of history, but with a modern decoration that offers a cosy warming athmosphere. We hope you will like to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing