We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Good location, good breakfast, nice service. The owner was lovely and wanting to help with anything. Very clean and the shared bathroom, is only shared with one other room, so that is nice. And there was no one else in the other rooms while we stayed there, so got it to ourselves.
There are two computers down stares to use with internet as well as wifi connection in your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj_892013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    35
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
31
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fantastic hostel with friendly staff and very clean, comfortable rooms, many activities like walking tours and pub crawls and situated right in the heart of the city. When I stayed there they organized a wine tasting and we had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 586Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We travel as often as we can, and always on a budget, thus hostels are really nothing new to us, we know what to expect (sometimes you have to expect the worst) and we have quite a good idea of what is waiting for us when booking a hostel online.

But this hostel was just amazing. The hostel is extremely modern and clean. It has a nice little terrace downstairs where one can enjoy a glass of port or just sit and relax. The kitchen is clean and has everything one would need during a stay.

The bathrooms were cleaned frequently and we never had any issues with the state of the bathrooms.

The hostel offers an organized pub crawl which was easily one of the holiday highlights. We had so much fun with strangers who stayed over in the hostel with us. And the pub crawl/tour was really interesting and a lot of fun.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and breakfast served was great.

Would definitely recommend this to any fellow travelers as well as families (there is a guesthouse section which is quite private).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_du_Toit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to this city without any plan on our tour on the Iberian part of europe but people in Lisboa told us that is is really worth to see Oporto and so we decidet spontanisly to make a stop there.
We chose this hostel because friends told us about a new option there and so we took it.
Ok, the hostel is really very basic and looks a little bit like a hospital because most of the hostel is in whithe. The walls, the dormbeds and many things more.
The price and the service was god but the beds and the cleanness of the hostel was not perfekt for sure.
The breakfast was in the price for the nights includet an ok, in relation to the price.
Internet was also there and the bathrooms were also very basic but it worked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrisGafanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Is a very nice hostel! It is like a Mini Hotel!!.. Very clean, the bathrooms are very nice and modern, the kitchen is big and comfortable, and it has good breakfast!!.. Location is perfect!.. Rua do Almada has bars around and nice places to eat!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carito21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessicalopes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in Porto hostel for 3 nights and it's the best hostel I have ever been to! It's really clean (really!!), you could smell it as soon as you entered in the hostel and really nice decoraded. It is perfectly located, right in the center of Porto and next to a metro station. The people were all very friendly and always tried to help.To conclude I strongly recommend it, because it's cheap, clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hostel seems very new. The owner may have had some good ideas but unfortunately, didn't pull it off, in my opinion. It is very white, very stark. Noisy, cold, not cosy.

The place echoes terribly so it quickly becomes noisy. There is nothing on the walls, nothing to absorb sound. Many of the very trendy features are not particularly handy. The rain showerhead is lovely but the stall is way too small, considering it is also supposed to double as the changeroom. It has hooks to hang your clothes but they'll be soaked once you're done your shower. I was glad I was in the female dorm so I could just step out of the shower stall to dress. But there's no place to hang your clothes outside of the shower stall. Speaking of hooks, there are no hooks in the dorm rooms either so no place to hang anything. Some simple hooks for each bed would be such a simple, inexpensive and helpful thing to provide.

The towels in the kitchen were scarce and eternally damp so it was never possible to dry your dishes. There weren't even towels, paper or otherwise, in the bathrooms for when you wash your hands after using the toilet. My goodness. Really?

I also wasn't a fan of the breakfast, nothing more than bread and too sweet jam or chocolate goo. The coffee was terrible and the tea choices were dismal. They only had loose tea but only provided one loose tea holder. So only 1 person could have a cup of tea at any one time. Ridiculous.

A big plus for this place is its cleanliness and I also found it a very safe hostel. Two very important points.

But the atmosphere sucks. I think there are several far better hostel choices in Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter and have patio or balcony access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 214 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#6 of 214 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 214 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Hostel
Wine Hostel
#7 of 214 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden House Hostel Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse

Property: Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Address: Rua do Almada 317, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse is a completely restored and modernized building that combines the original typical architecture from the XIX century with a very stylish and modern interior which offers a chic accommodation. We are situated in the heart of the historic centre of Porto, close to the most important city square - Avenida dos Aliados - where you can find Porto's most important attractions and enjoy the city's great nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing