We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It seems to be very new but only basic !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to this city without any plan on our tour on the Iberian part of europe but people in Lisboa told us that is is really worth to see Oporto and so we decidet spontanisly to make a stop there.
We chose this hostel because friends told us about a new option there and so we took it.
Ok, the hostel is really very basic and looks a little bit like a hospital because most of the hostel is in whithe. The walls, the dormbeds and many things more.
The price and the service was god but the beds and the cleanness of the hostel was not perfekt for sure.
The breakfast was in the price for the nights includet an ok, in relation to the price.
Internet was also there and the bathrooms were also very basic but it worked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrisGafanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Is a very nice hostel! It is like a Mini Hotel!!.. Very clean, the bathrooms are very nice and modern, the kitchen is big and comfortable, and it has good breakfast!!.. Location is perfect!.. Rua do Almada has bars around and nice places to eat!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carito21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in Porto hostel for 3 nights and it's the best hostel I have ever been to! It's really clean (really!!), you could smell it as soon as you entered in the hostel and really nice decoraded. It is perfectly located, right in the center of Porto and next to a metro station. The people were all very friendly and always tried to help.To conclude I strongly recommend it, because it's cheap, clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hostel seems very new. The owner may have had some good ideas but unfortunately, didn't pull it off, in my opinion. It is very white, very stark. Noisy, cold, not cosy.

The place echoes terribly so it quickly becomes noisy. There is nothing on the walls, nothing to absorb sound. Many of the very trendy features are not particularly handy. The rain showerhead is lovely but the stall is way too small, considering it is also supposed to double as the changeroom. It has hooks to hang your clothes but they'll be soaked once you're done your shower. I was glad I was in the female dorm so I could just step out of the shower stall to dress. But there's no place to hang your clothes outside of the shower stall. Speaking of hooks, there are no hooks in the dorm rooms either so no place to hang anything. Some simple hooks for each bed would be such a simple, inexpensive and helpful thing to provide.

The towels in the kitchen were scarce and eternally damp so it was never possible to dry your dishes. There weren't even towels, paper or otherwise, in the bathrooms for when you wash your hands after using the toilet. My goodness. Really?

I also wasn't a fan of the breakfast, nothing more than bread and too sweet jam or chocolate goo. The coffee was terrible and the tea choices were dismal. They only had loose tea but only provided one loose tea holder. So only 1 person could have a cup of tea at any one time. Ridiculous.

A big plus for this place is its cleanliness and I also found it a very safe hostel. Two very important points.

But the atmosphere sucks. I think there are several far better hostel choices in Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter and have patio or balcony access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The location is great and they are very kind and are making a big effort to help and make the stay as fun and comfortable as can. Big and with a lot of space and very clean and organized. The kitchen is great with all the facilities and it is cery nice to hang out there

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gidlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MartinouL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Adrià R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#66 of 109 in Porto
389 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 109 in Porto
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 262 in Porto
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#4 of 262 in Porto
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
So Cool Hostel Porto
So Cool Hostel Porto
#30 of 262 in Porto
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#18 of 262 in Porto
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: Rua do Almada 317, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range: $20 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse is a completely restored and modernized building that combines the original typical architecture from the XIX century with a very stylish and modern interior which offers a chic accommodation. We are situated in the heart of the historic centre of Porto, close to the most important city square - Avenida dos Aliados - where you can find Porto's most important attractions and enjoy the city's great nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing