We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better...”
Review of Wine Quay Bar

Wine Quay Bar
Ranked #8 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, Wine Bar, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The wine list is short and weak, the wine I was served was openned a long time ago as it had already lost it's qualities...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you Diogo P for your review.
We are very sad to know that we didn´t been able to overcome your expectations.
Wine Quay Bar has a list of more than 50 Portuguese (all regions) wines, all of good quality, from wine makers well knowned in Portugal and ,happly for us portuguese, all over the world.
We also don´t understand why you drank a wine that you didn´t like, because wine quay bar´s policy is you will only drink what you like.
We hope to see you soon,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,344
    370
    50
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make this a priority when you visit Porto”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful relaxed atmosphere, with tasteful decor, stunning views, and the most attentive staff you will find anywhere. Add to this a superb meze / tapas menu that complements the excellent range of wines on offer.

And so to the owner - an expert on genuine Portuguese hospitality, with passionate recommendations on a great variety of local wines from his range, and a very modest opinion on just how good this place is.

If you make an effort to visit just one iconic venue during your visit to Porto, then this should be the one !! Thank you Moisés and staff. We will be back again as soon as possible.

Guy & Rita.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much Guy & Rita. for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you.
We are hoping to see you soon, You promised!
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely wine bar in great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved this little wine bar! The owners are incredibly helpful and really fun to talk with, and the wines are great! We especially enjoyed this tiny spot because it's all about the wine and conversation (if you sit inside). Outside were two spots to sit and look over the river over candlelight. We would have gone here again if we had more time. Great spot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much HL S for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you both!
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing wine with cheese”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great cozy spot to share a bottle of wine with some nibbles. Doesn't have an extensive menu but some good cheese and meats to go with the amazing wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Audi280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much Audi280 for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you.
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reviews”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Not sure its the best restaurant in Porto but its an excellent wine bar, a bit difficult to find as you have to walk through the seating area of a bigger restaurant but its worth routing out. Excellent setting and decor. Very attentive host, good selection of wines. Small choice of tapas (cheese, ham, sausages or sardines, bread and oil) but all very good quality, nicely presented and reasonably priced. We had a bottle of white wine, ham, cheese and sardines with bread for less that 40 euros. Excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much PatandBrian for your review.
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you.
We are hoping to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Quay Bar also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Wine Quay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing