We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious wine and tapas with a view”
Review of Wine Quay Bar

Wine Quay Bar
Ranked #4 of 1,707 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We will be closed at the 24 and 25 December, and from the 31 of December till 25th of january of 2017.
Mountain View, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious wine and tapas with a view”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is not a place for an official dinner. We had ham, cheese, bread, olive oil, and a flight of wine, which was enough of a meal for us for dinner, and all of which was delicious. Tapas consist mostly of a variety of cheeses and a variety of hams. Service was great. We were going to order a flight of wine for each of us, and the waiter talked us down to sharing one. He was right -- they were three full glasses. We are used to flights being small portions of each wine. He also helped us select a ham and a cheese, and when it got cooler out offered to bring me a blanket, since we were sitting outside along the wall with the view of the riverfront. A charming little place that was turning away people most of the time we were there. Not cheap, but a very nice, cozy little spot to relax.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much redhod for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here!
We hope to see you soon, with a better weather!
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,442
    397
    52
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfenbuettel
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cannot be topped!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We came here thanks to the reviews in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. It was absolutely incredible, the service was brilliant, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, the bread, olive oil and raw ham was to die for. The sparkling rose wine perfect. One superlative followed the next. We loved it so much we came back the next day and were delighted to be told we could even purchase some of the olive oil to take home with us. We had planned to spend our final evening here again but unfortunately the wine bar is closed on Sundays and Mondays. We saw it was closed on Sunday and took it for granted it would be open on Monday. When we saw the doors were closed our disappointment was HUGE:The location is also fantastic, directly on the river. All the other guests obviously felt as delighted as we did to be sitting in this wine bar and both times we got chatting to other visitors, not difficult as the place is so smalll. Even if it were 10 times the size I am sure it would also always be full. It really is a little bit of heaven in Porto. The owners cannot only be praised for making it so. On our next stay in Porto we will make a bee-line for the Wine Quay bar that is for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitchcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much Hitchcock2 for your review.
First off all, we are sorry to know that you came here when we were closed.
But we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Porto and in Wine Quay Bar.
It was a pleasure having you both here!
We hope you remenber us when you taste at your home the olive oil.
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Porto so far!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stumbled upon this place by accident my first night in Porto and it's an absolute gem! I've had very mixed luck with food and wine here, but everything about Wine Quay Bar is excellent. The guy who owns it is sweet, knowledgable and speaks great English. The wine list is fantastic and well priced (over the past few days I've tried glasses from 2.5-10 euro and each one has been great), and there are nice cheese and charcuterie plates along with bread and good olive oil. The views also can't be beat, looking over the water! I've been back here each evening pre-dinner and it's my favorite spot in Porto

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmangiare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much travelmangiare for your review.
You are very kind in calling us your “Favorite spot in Porto so far!”
For us it was also a wonderfull time to be with you.
We are hoping to see you soon,
Best regards,
Moisés and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a couple of flights of wine and some nibbles here last night. We had an excellent evening; the wines were lovely and the cheese and ham clearly very carefully picked. A must visit crowned by the very knowledgable and welcoming host and hostesses. If you in the area don't miss it, and if they are full do go back later!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KeirLivesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much KeirLivesey for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here and "flight with you"!
We are hoping to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, warm bar with incredible drinks”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Incredibly friendly bar - guests ended up speaking to each other within minutes of entering. The owners were lovely and made us all feel very welcome.

We had a 'flight' sample of local red wines, which were fantastic. We enjoyed drinking them, chatting to others in the bar and looking out onto the beautiful Douro River.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFSGF, Owner at Wine Quay Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much Victoria B for your review.
It was a pleasure having you here!
We´re happy that you enjoyed!
Hoping to see you soon.
Best regards,
Moses and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Quay Bar also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Wine Quay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing